Open Educational Resources (OER): Science

Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats. Browse subjects to find relevant titles.

Publisher of open access books, built by scientists for scientists.

Publisher of open access books, built by scientists for scientists.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year... providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.

Peer-reviewed, openly licensed free textbooks.

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

PhET Interactive Simulations are based on research on student engagement to provide game-like teaching tools that let students explore chemistry, biology, earth science, and physics concepts through discovery-based learning.

Writing the Disciplines is an interdisciplinary reference textbook focused on teaching students how to develop written documents as seen across diverse professions. (Alvernia publication)

ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.

Pre-print articles in the biosciences. Not peer-reviewed.

Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library and related resources.

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.” Explore Life and Physical Sciences and Engineering.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks.

Introductory textbook from Lumen Learning.

Introductory biology textbook, 7 units over 41 chapters, available for free download from the iBooks Store.

Open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

A collection of visual and curriculum resources that are submitted by professors/scientists from around the world, curated in ASM

The resources featured on the site include lab and field work protocols, data handling exercises, videos of techniques and multimedia alternatives to wet lab work.

Plant List of Accepted Nomenclature, Taxonomy, and Symbols
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Interactive computer simulations of natural environments that model responses to changing conditions.

The Virtual Lab is an online simulation of a chemistry lab. It is designed to help students link chemical computations with authentic laboratory chemistry. The lab allows students to select from hundreds of standard reagents (aqueous) and manipulate them in a manner resembling a real lab.

Chemistry structure and property data.

Data, including toxicology, for over 700,000 chemicals. Currently searching by text, CAS number, and InChiKey; structure searching is being developed. Some aspects in beta testing

A wide variety of interactive chemistry topics.

Open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

PubChem is an open chemistry datavase at the National Institute of Health (NIH)

Interactive periodic table includes standard element data, while also bringing video, podcast, and historical information to students.

Introductory Physics textbook from Lumen Learning.

Pay careful attention to search syntax and 'How To Search" help notes. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources

Open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

Interactive physics learning tool with mapped by topic and difficulty.

The OSP Collection provides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling. Computational physics and computer modeling provide students with new ways to understand, describe, explain, and predict physical phenomena.

Teaching resources from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Videos from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Resources from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).

Lesson plans, activities, multimedia content, and background information for college instruction from the US Geological Survey.