Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks & Teaching Tools
BCCampus OpenEd: Computer Science
Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats.
Bookboon: Digitization & IT
Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities
Free programming, computer science, and web design books on GitHub.
Green Tea Press
Free books on Python, Java, Perl, MATLAB, and operating systems.
IntechOpenEd: Computer & Information Science
IntechOpen offers peer-reviewed, open access books in a variety of scientific fields.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
National Academies Press: Computers & Information Technology
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine.
National Computer Science Institution Educators' Portal
Workshops for educators at all levels, giving them ideas and resources to use in their classrooms.
OER Commons: Computer Science
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources
Open Culture Free Textbooks: Computer Science
A meta list of Free Computer Science Textbooks.
Open Textbook Library: Computer Science & Information Systems
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
The Internet Archive: Computer Science
Internet Archives is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
The Open Library: Computer Science
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
The Open Library: Programming
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book published.
EZB (Electronic Journals Library)
The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online. Note that many journals included are foreign language.
Journal of Computational Science Education
The Journal of Computational Science Education is intended to provide an outlet for high quality papers describing successful computational science instructional materials and projects and research on the efficacy of instruction with computational science.
Study Tools & Learning Communities
Includes a Reference dictionary, tutorials, articles about the C++ language, and a forum.
Short courses in a variety of CIS and web design topics.
Offering programming online courses as well as "Hour of Code" short lessons focused on specific skills.
Stack Exchange network comprises 173 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow.
Exercises and tutorials in a variety of CIS topics with self-contained practice tools that allow students to view outputs of their code.
WebsiteSetup Cheat Sheets
Guides to a variety of programming languages, markup languages, and structured query languages.