Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks & Teaching Tools
Getty Research Portal
100,000+ digitized books from world libraries
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons, Arts & Humanities
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
The Internet Archive: Art
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Fine Art Resources
Americans for the Arts: Arts Education Navigator E-book Series
Through a partnership with Vans Custom Culture, Americans for the Arts has designed the Arts Education Navigator, Read more about our partnership with Vans.a series of e-books designed to help educators, students, and advocates navigate the complex field of arts education.
Art History Teaching Resources
AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.
Boundless Art History
An OER textbook from Lumen Learning covering ancient through Postmodern art across the globe
Open Course Library: Art 100 - Art Appreciation
This is an exploration of visual art forms and their cultural connections for the student with little experience in the visual arts. The course includes a brief study of art history and in-depth studies of the elements, media, and methods used in creative process and thought.
Project Gutenberg Art Bookshelf
This bookshelf presents a selection of art books and books about artists, including practical methods and specialties, as well as general works on art and art history, plus visitor guides to art expos, galleries, and museums
Guggenheim Online Collection
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim's permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks.
J. Paul Getty Museum
Browse the collection, library, special collections, and over 100,000 open content images.
The Met Collection
The Museum's Open Access initiative,  makes more than 406,000 images of public-domain artworks from The Met collection available for free and unrestricted use.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Library: Art and Design
Archival files, audio files, bibliographies, and more from across the Smithsonian institutions
Duke University Libraries Digital Collections Historic American Sheet Music
Provides access to digital images for over 3,000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Library of Congress Music Scores
Scores from the Library of Congress online catalog
Free sheet music for everyone
Open Course Library: Music 105- Music Appreciation
The purpose of this course is to help students further enhance their appreciation for music as a creative tool of the imagination, as entertainment, as a window into who we are as social beings.
Petrucci Music Library
Sharing the world's public domain music
Project Gutenberg Music Bookshelf
Music biographies, collections, history, instruction, and other resources
UCLA Digital Library Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.