From OER. This set of slides describes the cell involved in the production & maintenance of bone, the nature of the extracellular matrix, and compares the structural and functional difference between cartilage and bone.
From OER. This set of slides describes the cells involved in the production & maintenance of cartilage, the nature of the extracellular matrix , and the different types of cartilage.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
The book Essentials in Spinal Cord Injury Medicine includes seven chapters with valuable information addressing hot topics related to spinal cord injury, ranging from pathophysiology, nontraumatic spinal cord injury, complications to exoskeletons, and research therapies with mesenchymal stem cells. The book could be a valued reference for physiatrists, neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neurologists and physical therapists.
InTech Open is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.
These three chapters were re-designed for a Physical Therapy course in order to reduce textbook costs at Augusta University (formerly Georgia Regents University). This module includes the first three chapters of a book.
This textbook for the Integration for Practice: Neuromuscular course is a multimedia PDF with videos embedded. The videos make the file size of the PDF almost 600MB, which is a large download but preserves offline use of videos.
Publicly accessible evidence-based clinical guideline repository from the organization that managed the federal government's Guideline Clearinghouse (shut down 2018.) Many guidelines have summaries and TRUST Scorecards (TM). Links to publishers' websites (may not include full text) for all guidelines. *Registration required
A search engine for finding what research (via PubMed) is available for health topics. Evidence levels and key terms are highlighted, making the research easier to understand.
"Preprint servers are websites that enable scientists to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community before they submit them to scientific journals...Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
Full text reports and e-books from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.
