Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks & Teaching Tools
BCCampus OpenED: Philosophy
At BCcampus, we’re using open technologies to facilitate, evaluate, and create open educational resources to share across the province and around the world; saving millions of student-dollars through hundreds of open textbooks adopted in thousands of classrooms.
A multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
MERLOT Materials: Philosophy
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
A Modern Formal Logic Primer
UC Davis – “Distributed under the GNU General Public License (https://www.gnu.org/licenses/old-licenses/gpl-2.0.html), version 2”
OER Commons: Philosophy
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Open Course Library: PHIL 101 Introduction to Philosophy
Unless otherwise specified, this PHIL 101 – Introduction to Philosophy course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/deed.en_US).
Open Textbook Library: Philosophy
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Project Gutenberg: Philosophy Bookshelf
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Saylor Academy: Philosophy
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.
Journal of Practical Ethics: A Journal of Philosophy, Applied to the Real World
An open access journal in moral and political philosophy (and related areas), published by the Oxford Uehiro Centre for Practical Ethics, located at the University of Oxford.”
Kritike: An Online Journal of Philosophy
Kritike is the official open access journal of the Department of Philosophy of the University of Santo Tomas (UST), Manila, Philippines.
PhaenEx: Journal of Existential and Phenomenological Theory and Culture
We encourage libraries to list this open access journal among its electronic journal holdings.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of works in philosophy. In addition to indexing books and journal articles, it monitors open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers. It also accepts articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies in our open access archive, the largest in philosophy.--Note: The Library does not have a direct subscription to PhilPapers, so users may experience ads or slow downloads.
The content published in Public Reason is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/).