The mission of the U-M Medical School is to educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the State of Michigan and beyond.
Welcome to the MERLOT Health Sciences Portal, and educational resource for teaching and learning. This site includes over 40 different subjects including nursing, nutrition, and radiology.
"The New Genetics is a science education booklet explains the role of genes in health and disease, the basics of DNA and its molecular cousin RNA, and new directions in genetic research." You can download the free PDF from the site.
From MedlinePlus. "Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more."
From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, you will find basic quizzes and puzzles about cells, genetics, proteins, bacteria, Nobel Prizes, inside cells, chemistry of health, and much more.
InTech Open is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.
Open Education Resources for Nursing is a project led by Chippewa Valley Technical College. The Open RN project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create 5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
Peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions.
Publicly accessible evidence-based clinical guideline repository from the organization that managed the federal government's Guideline Clearinghouse (shut down 2018.) Many guidelines have summaries and TRUST Scorecards (TM). Links to publishers' websites (may not include full text) for all guidelines. *Registration required
A search engine for finding what research (via PubMed) is available for health topics. Evidence levels and key terms are highlighted, making the research easier to understand.
"Preprint servers are websites that enable scientists to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community before they submit them to scientific journals...Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
Full text reports and e-books from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.
