Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks & Teaching Tools
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons: History
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Open Textbook Library: History
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Browse under Social Science to find History courses. In each course, the View Course Content and Outcomes button will lead to an online textbook. Lumen history textbooks include primary source study and video content.
BCCampus OpenEd: History
Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats.
USHistory.org: Independence Hall Association
Three online textbooks: US History, American Government, and Ancient Civilizations.
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500
Creative commons licensed textbook, covering prehistory through the year 1500.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
The Internet Archive: History
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Hundreds of digital collections containing maps, images, documents, letters, and more.
The National Archives and Records Administration
Primary source materials for American history and governance, including information on Presidential Libraries, veteran records, and special resources for educators.
Browse foreign language Bookshelves or search the catalog to find public domain books on a variety of languages.
Local Primary Sources
Libraries, museums, historical societies, university special collections, and other repositories all contain primary resources. Many share some resources in online digital collections. Searching for museums, historical societies, and libraries in the geographic area relevant to course content is a good way to identify relevant primary source materials. Contact a librarian for assistance with locating primary source documents tied to specific people, events, or locations.