BioMed Central (BMC)This link opens in a new windowOpen access database for the biological and medical sciences.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowIncludes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PubChemThis link opens in a new windowQuickly find chemical information from authoritative sources.
Springer OpenThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of open access journals.
Criminal Justice Databases
Criminal Justice Databases
APA PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowAPA PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), covers peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans from 1894 to present.
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAPA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains nearly 500,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. This resource includes full text for over 315 magazines and journals.
Exploring Race in SocietyThis link opens in a new window"Contains context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness."
Mental Measurements YearbookThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSocINDEX offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.SocINDEX also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Coverage dates as far back as 1895. Includes journals books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
Law and Medical Databases
CINAHL with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThis valuable resource provides full text for over 550 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1981.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis)This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.Accessing Nexis Uni requires an account. You can create an account while on the campus network. Please contact a librarian for help creating an account from off-campus.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA nurses responsibility extends beyond addressing just physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. Prepare your students to do that with our exclusive new collection, Nursing and Mental Health in Video.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 22 million citations in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
News Databases
Black Life in AmericaThis link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 - present.
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowA database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Hispanic Life in AmericaThis link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 2010 to today.
NewsBank - Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowBrowse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowRegional Business News provides comprehensive full text for for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowCovers a broad array of subjects including biology, chemistry, physics, education, health, psychology, religion & theology, and social work.Academic Search ™ Premier contains indexing for 8,200 publications, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles. Over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals are indexed, with full text for 3,600 titles.
Alexander Street Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowFind background information, definitions, and basic explanations of concepts and theories
Digital Commons NetworkThis link opens in a new windowThe Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR, (short for Journal Storage) covers journals in business, economics, education, history, political science, literature, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Library One SearchThis link opens in a new windowSearch for print books, eBooks, journal articles, and everything else available at Alvernia's library from one search box!
NewsBank - Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowBrowse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowInformation on current social issues: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to selected web sites.
SAGE Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowResources to answer your research methods and statistics questions
Springer OpenThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of open access journals.
