This is the "Home" page of the "Services for Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Services for Students   Tags: services, students  

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2012 URL: http://alvernia.libguides.com/services_students Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Services

The Alvernia University Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center staff provides comprehensive services for students both on and off campus. Professional librarians are available for research and information-seeking assistance during the hours that the library is open. The library is open 95 hours per week, with extended hours the week prior to exams.

Research Help

Multiple options for research help include:

Stay Connected
Logon tips for off campus access to library databases, Alvernia e-mail, Blackboard and Self-Service.

Consortia Benefits

The library maintains memberships in several consortia to maximize the benefits of library cooperation. Alvernia faculty and students may borrow from 25 academic institutional members of the Associated College Libraries of Central Pennsylvania consortium. Membership in Lyrasis and the Online Computer Library Center benefits the library and its patrons by offering cooperative purchasing and interlibrary loan services.

 

Library Resources

Books, Journals and DVDs

The library collection includes over 90,000 physical items, consisting of books, videos, CDs, and curriculum materials. The library provides subscriptions to 150 current print serial titles. Over 3,500 audio visual items are held in the collection. Additionally, access to over 22,000 electronic books is available to Alvernia University students.

Article Databases

The library’s article database subscriptions provide access to over 90,000 electronic journal titles. Faculty and students can logon to article databases from off-campus.

Library Guides

Numerous research aids are available on the library Website. The librarians provide online subject and course-specific Library Guides to aid in research, tutorials, Selected Websites, and other tools to help students find and use information.

Franco Library

Profile Image
Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Library: 610-796-8223
Reference Help: 610-796-5517
E-mail: library.calendar@alvernia.edu
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip