LibGuides: Off-Campus Access: Auto-Authentication Recognition

Auto-Authentication Recognition

For the majority of the library's databases, when accessing them off-campus you will be prompted to authenticate if you have not yet done so already on your device.

If you have authenticated for another platform on your device, you'll be sent right in to the database when you try to access it from the library's website. If you have NOT, you will be sent to the Alvernia University sign in screen (pictured below).

After inputting your username and password, you'll need to confirm your identity using Microsoft Authenticator on your mobile device.

List of Applicable Databases

The following databases are capable of auto-authentication recognition.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Covers a broad array of subjects including biology, chemistry, physics, education, health, psychology, religion & theology, and social work.Academic Search ™ Premier contains indexing for 8,200 publications, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles. Over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals are indexed, with full text for 3,600 titles.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window APA PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), covers peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans from 1894 to present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window APA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), coverage in this database begins in 1908, with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 300 journals selected by leading religion scholars.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 - present.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier features the full text for more than 2,100 journals.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window This valuable resource provides full text for over 550 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Searches six Cochrane Library databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). CDSR, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Providing the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 650 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 850 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 500 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e., searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Find background information, definitions, and basic explanations of concepts and theories
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains nearly 500,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. This resource includes full text for over 315 magazines and journals.
Dissertations & Theses - EBSCO OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window EBSCO Open Dissertations includes records for more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It includes areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.The Department of Education ERIC site can be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov/ The content is the same as in EBSCO ERIC. The only difference is the interface.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 2010 to today.
ICE Learning Center with StrokeHelp This link opens in a new window Short video clips, easy to search and select, illustrating a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Your campus subscription provides 24/7 access to the entire ICE Video Library for faculty & students and faculty access to resources in the Faculty Toolkit.
IGI Global eBooks This link opens in a new window Current eBooks on a wide variety of subjects
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window Searches the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, a fully refereed library that publishes systematic reviews of literature following the JBI methodology.
Journal Finder This link opens in a new window This tool helps you determine which database(s) contains a specific journal. Use when searching for a known article for which you have the journal, volume, and issue number, as applicable.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, (short for Journal Storage) covers journals in business, economics, education, history, political science, literature, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window LISTA indexes more than 580 core journals, over 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. It is EBSCO's intention to provide access to LISTA on a continual basis.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window An evidence-based natural medicines resource designed for healthcare professionals.The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is recognized as the scientific gold standard for evidence-based information on natural medicines. Leaders in conventional medicine as well as complementary, alternative, and integrative medicine recognize the Database as the go-to resource for the most complete and practical information.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.Accessing Nexis Uni requires an account. You can create an account while on the campus network. Please contact a librarian for help creating an account from off-campus.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window A nurses responsibility extends beyond addressing just physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. Prepare your students to do that with our exclusive new collection, Nursing and Mental Health in Video.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Information on current social issues: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to selected web sites.
Oxford English Dictionary: OED This link opens in a new window The definitive record of the English language
PA Core Education This link opens in a new window
PA Rotations/Specialties This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Produced by the Philosophers Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window This evidence-based, point-of-care resource is for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. With Rehabilitation Reference Center, therapists can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.SocINDEX also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Coverage dates as far back as 1895. Includes journals books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.