Engineering, Technology & Applied Science Research (ETASR)Engineering, Technology & Applied Science Research (ETASR) is an international wide scope, peer-reviewed open access journal for the publication of original articles concerned with diverse aspects of science application, technology and engineering.
Engineer Live (Opens in New Tab)Read the latest engineering news across a number of sectors including: chemical, technology, software, oil and gas, mining and design on Engineer Live.
Science.gov (Opens in New Tab)Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Binding DB (Opens in New Tab)The first public molecular recognition database, BindingDB supports research, education and practice in drug discovery, pharmacology and related fields.
ChemExper (Opens in New Tab)Find chemicals in the Chemexper Chemical Directory. Can search by text or by compound structure.
Common Chemistry - CAS (Opens in New Tab)CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.
ENZYME - Enzyme Nomenclature Database (Opens in New Tab)ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided.
GenBank - NIH (Opens in New Tab)GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013 Jan;41(D1):D36-42). GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.
Green Chemistry Institute (Opens in New Tab)" The purpose of their website is to promote green chemistry and green engineering principles, primarily to researchers, people working in industry, teachers, and students." (Choice)
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database (Opens in New Tab)A database containing solubilities originally published in the IUPAC (International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry) - NIST Solubility Data Series is now available online.
NIST Chemistry WebBook (Opens in New Tab)For information on thermodynamic data for over 5,000 chemical compounds and on ion-energetics data for over 10,000 chemical compounds, NIST's Chemistry WebBook is available for searching. Compounds can be searched by name, chemical formula, or CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number. (ISP)
Organic Chemistry Portal (Opens in New Tab)The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
Periodic Table - PTable (Opens in New Tab)An interactive online periodic table that easily shows elements as categorized by physical characteristics, chemical characteristics, freezing point, boiling point, melting point, and more.
Protein Data Bank - PDB (Opens in New Tab)RCSB Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB) enables breakthroughs in science and education by providing access and tools for exploration, visualization, and analysis of experimentally-determined 3D structures from the Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive and Computed Structure Models (CSM) from AlphaFold DB and ModelArchive.
SynArchive (Opens in New Tab)SynArchive is a free web based application that allows you to browse a growing database of organic syntheses. Unlike most chemical synthesis shown on the web, the sequence of reactions is clear, precise and unambiguous.
Wired Chemist (Opens in New Tab)Tutorials and discussion on chemistry, environmental laboratory projects, as well as information on mineralogy and NMR. Links to educational resources also included.
American Mathematical Society (Opens in New Tab)This organization promotes mathematics research, mathematics education, and the "awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life." This extensive site includes, career resources, news, publications, online books, Mathematical Reviews Database, and other resources for students, teachers, and professionals. Searchable. (lii)
Association for Computing Machinery (Opens in New Tab)ACM delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field’s premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.(ACM)
Historical Math Monographs (Opens in New Tab)This collection consists of the digitization of over 450 general monographs, over 550 math books, and nearly 700 New York State historical pamphlets and monographs. You can browse the entire collection by author or title, or search within the math books, or by multiple collections. From Cornell University. (LII)
The MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive (Opens in New Tab)A searchable archive containing information about the history of math. Topics include biographies of mathematicians from ancient times to the present (including a timeline), mathematics in various cultures, an overview of the history of mathematics, mathematical topics, famous curves, and "mathematicians of the day." (LII)
VassarStats: Statistical Computation (Opens in New Tab)VassarStats Statistical Computation Website is a large collection of statistical calculators for categorical frequency data, proportions, ordinal data, and correlation and regression, among other procedures. (ISP)
Wolfram Mathworld (Opens in New Tab)This site is a "comprehensive, and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers." The subject index includes algebra, applied mathematics, calculus and analysis, discrete mathematics, the foundations and history of mathematics, geometry, number theory, probability and statistics, recreational mathematics, and topology. (LII)
Physics & Astronomy Websites
Earth and Moon Viewer (Opens in New Tab)You can view either a map of the Earth showing the day and night regions at this moment or view the Earth from the Sun, the Moon, the night side of the Earth, above any location on the planet specified by latitude, longitude and altitude, from a satellite in Earth orbit, or above various cities around the globe. In addition, you can view the Moon from Sun, Earth, night side, above formations on the Moon, and as a map
Einstein Light (Opens in New Tab)Companion website to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) Nova program about "the story behind the world's most famous equation": energy equals mass times the speed of light squared (E = mc²). The site features an essay explaining this 1905 equation that "says that energy and mass (matter) are interchangeable," information about scientists whose experiments paved the way for Albert Einstein, an audio clip of Einstein explaining the equation, links to related sites, materials for library activities, and much more. (LII)
HyperPhysics (Opens in New Tab)Written in HTML with Javascript calculation routines." An excellent resource for physics educators and students, HyperPhysics gives flashcard-like summary pages for a huge array of topics in physics. (ISP)
My Physics Lab (Opens in New Tab)Click on one of the physics simulations below... you'll see them animating in real time, and be able to interact with them by dragging objects or changing parameters like gravity.
Nine Planets (Opens in New Tab)This site, "intended for a general audience with little technical background," gives "an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system. Each page has text and images, some have sounds and movies, most provide references to additional related information." (LII)
NOVA: The Elegant Universe (Opens in New Tab)This site is a companion to the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) NOVA program about string theory (the idea "that the fundamental ingredients of nature are inconceivably tiny strings of energy, whose different modes of vibration underlie everything that happens in the universe") as explained by author-physicist Brian Greene. (LII)
Particle Adventure (Opens in New Tab)An award-winning interactive tour of quarks, neutrinos, antimatter, extra dimensions, dark matter, accelerators and particle detectors from the Particle Data Group of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
PHET Interactive Simulations (Opens in New Tab)PhET Interactive Simulations are based on research on student engagement to provide game-like teaching tools that let students explore chemistry, biology, earth science, and physics concepts through discovery-based learning.
Physical Sciences Resource Center (Opens in New Tab)Created as part of a collaborative effort by such organizations as the National Science Foundation and the American Association of Physics Teachers, the Physical Sciences Resource Center (PSRC) serves as a clearinghouse of information and resources for physical sciences education for grades K-20. Visitors to the site can browse the collection by topic, object type, or grade level. (ISP)
Physics Aviary (Opens in New Tab)Welcome to the Physics Aviary (Programs created by humans for humans!!). Since 2013 we have been making cross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics.
Physics World (Opens in New Tab)Includes news, articles, and a comprehensive annotated index to on-line physics resources. The Buyer's Guide is a classified business directory with links to suppliers of lab equipment and other materials. There are also worldwide job listings and information on conferences and workshops. (LII)
PhysLINK (Opens in New Tab)Welcome to PhysLink.com - the physics and astronomy online portal! We feature latest physics news and editorials, extensive science reference and constants section, education section where you can ask our experts any physics or astronomy related question. Also, don't miss our fun page and our online science store.
Unit Conversion - NIST (Opens in New Tab)Unit conversion is a multi-step process that involves multiplication or division by a numerical factor, selection of the correct number of significant digits, and rounding.
