LibGuides: Writing for Healthcare Professionals: Finding Sources

Health Databases

AHFS Consumer Medical Information This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Health - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
JAMA Network: Open This link opens in a new window
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window
MedLinePlus This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection - NEW This link opens in a new window
Psychology - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window

Communication Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Business - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Literature - NEW This link opens in a new window
Oxford English Dictionary: OED - NEW This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Library One Search This link opens in a new window
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Springer Open This link opens in a new window

Systematic Reviews & Meta Analysis

What are Systematic Reviews & Meta Analyses?

Systematic Review
"A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a given research question" (The Cochrane Library)

Meta Analysis
Meta analysis is "a statistical synthesis of the numerical results of several trials which all address the same question" (Greenhalgh, 2010, p.121).

Where do I find Systematic Reviews & Meta Analyses?

The Cochrane Library and JBI - Ovid are primary resources for finding meta analysis and systematic reviews. However they can also be found in PubMed and Health - EBSCO databases.

Literature Reviews

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Search for Literature Review to find a wealth of guidance from Sage Research Methods. This is a great resource for learning what a literature review is and how to write one.

Using MeSH & CINAHL Terms

So what are these MeSH/CINAHL terms???

Learn how using MeSH terms will make your search more efficient & effective:

Search for Books in Alvernia's Library

Search for eBooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window

IGI Global eBooks This link opens in a new window

Useful Online Resources

Activity: Practice Searching

Topic: What are the attitudes of nurses about lifelong learning?

Database: EBSCO Health

Identify the key concepts of the research question
Brainstorm additional terms
Search within EBSCO's Health database, using Boolean Operators & applying limits
Review with class