There are several freely available open educational resources related to Anatomy and Physiology. Browse the list below to learn more!
Textbooks
Anatomy and Physiology - OpenStax (Opens in New Tab)Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
BioDigital (Opens in New Tab)Hailed as the equivalent of Google Maps for the human body, the BioDigital Human is a scientifically accurate cloud based virtual body that empowers everyone to learn about health and medicine in an entirely new visual format.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections (Opens in New Tab)The National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.
Teaching Commons: Anatomy (Opens in New Tab)Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
Teaching Commons: Physiology (Opens in New Tab)Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
The Visible Human Project (Opens in New Tab)The NLM Visible Human Project® has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
Health Datasets
BigBrain Project (Opens in New Tab)Creating the next generation of highly detailed human brain models by building on the BigBrain - the first openly accessible, microscopic resolution 3D model of the human brain.
Human Mortality Database (Opens in New Tab)The Human Mortality Database (HMD) is the world´s leading scientific data resource on mortality in developed countries. The HMD provides detailed high-quality harmonized mortality and population estimates to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the human longevity. The HMD follows open data principles.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (Opens in New Tab)NACDA acquires, preserves, and shares data relevant to gerontological research. We curate data and documentation to promote effective research use, facilitate data sharing across the research community, and provide data user support for our hosted data collections.
National Center for Health Statistics (Opens in New Tab)"The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics. Our products and services inform the public and guide program and policy decisions to improve our nation’s health."
NITRC Image Repository (Opens in New Tab)The NITRC Image Repository allows you to search for and freely download public datasets. It includes millions of dollars worth of DICOM and NIfTI images with normal and diagnoses such as child development disorders, Aspergers, Autism, ADHD, Parkinson’s and Schizophrenia.
NIH Open Domain-Specific Data Sharing Repositories (Opens in New Tab)This table lists NIH-supported domain-specific data repositories that make data accessible for reuse and are open for both submitting and accessing data. The list includes many repositories - an excellent resource.
OpenNeuro (Opens in New Tab)A free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (Opens in New Tab)"SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America."
