The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Social Work.
Social Work Agencies & Organizations
Administration for Children and Families (Opens in New Tab)The Administration for Children & Families (ACF), a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, youth, individuals and communities with funding, strategic partnerships, guidance, training and technical assistance.
Administration on Aging (Opens in New Tab)The Administration on Aging (AOA) is the principal agency of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services designated to carry out the provisions of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (OAA), as amended (42 U.S.C.A. § 3001 et seq.). The OAA promotes the well-being of older individuals by providing services and programs designed to help them live independently in their homes and communities. The Act also empowers the federal government to distribute funds to the states for supportive services for individuals over the age of 60.
American Public Human Services Association (Opens in New Tab)APHSA pursues excellence in health and human services by supporting state and local agencies, informing policymakers, and working with our partners to drive innovative, integrated and efficient solutions in policy and practice.
Association of Social Work Boards (Opens in New Tab)ASWB provides support and services to the social work regulatory community to advance safe, competent, and ethical practices to strengthen public protection.
Behavioral Health Division - City of Philadelphia (Opens in New Tab)The DBHIDS Behavioral Health Division provides mental health services for adults and children requiring medical, social, and educational services. The office provides these services through an extensive network of contracted provider agencies located throughout Philadelphia.
Catholic Charities USA (Opens in New Tab)The mission of Catholic Charities agencies is to provide service to people in need, to advocate for justice in social structures, and to call the entire church and other people of good will to do the same.
Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (Opens in New Tab)The Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV) leads the way in studying and identifying what works to prevent violence, as well as championing the use of evidence-based programs, practices and policies with the highest scientific standards.
Center on Poverty and Community Development (Opens in New Tab)Based in Cleveland, the Center on Poverty and Community Development (Poverty Center) is a trusted community partner that provides rich data infrastructure and research expertise to address the challenges associated with poverty, its causes, and its impact on communities, families, children, and neighborhoods. We work with communities to effect change locally, and our experience has relevant implications for research and policies nationwide.
Children's Defense Fund (Opens in New Tab) "The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) ... champions policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protect them from abuse and neglect; and ensure their access to health care, quality education and a moral and spiritual foundation." The Web site includes policy and research data.
Clinical Social Work Association (Opens in New Tab)The Clinical Social Work Association represents, protects, and amplifies the voices of clinical social workers as we strive to create a just, healthy, and inclusive society. CSWA promotes the highest standards of professional practice through advocacy, supporting the effectiveness of state societies, and facilitating educational opportunities.
Council on Social Work Education (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1952, the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is the national association representing social work education in the United States. Its members include more than 900 accredited baccalaureate and master’s degree social work programs and their affiliated social work educators, students, and staff, as well as practitioners and agencies dedicated to advancing quality social work education.
Family Caregiver Alliance (Opens in New Tab) A source for "caregivers of adults with Alzheimer's disease, stroke, traumatic brain injury, Parkinson's disease, ALS, and related brain disorders." The Resource Center includes care and services, work and eldercare, and related online services. There are factsheets on a variety of diseases, diagnosis, and research, some in Chinese or Spanish. There are also statistics, public policy issues, reading lists, and links to related sites. (LII)
Healthy Teen Network (Opens in New Tab)From our start in 1979, we focused on an often-overlooked group of young people: those who were pregnant and parenting. Back then, we were known as the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy and Parenting, or NOAPP. Over time, we added a third “P” to our name to bring in prevention, while never losing sight of supports and services for young people who are pregnant or parenting.
National Association of Social Workers (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1955, the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.
National Children's Alliance (Opens in New Tab)National Children’s Alliance (NCA) is a professional membership organization on a mission to make one big difference, one child at a time. Reaching everyone with a voice in eradicating abuse—families, advocates, partner agencies, communities, researchers, and all the way to Capitol Hill—our members power a national movement to keep children safe. Featuring the largest network of care centers supporting child abuse victims in the country, NCA is a model in outcome-driven collaboration.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (Opens in New Tab)A resource since 1988, the National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires data from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (Opens in New Tab) Part of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services, NIDA supports over 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The website includes special resources for teachers, parents and K-12 students as well as a database of free public domain publications and videos available for a nominal fee.
National Juvenile Court Data Archive (Opens in New Tab) "Established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policy making efforts."
National Youth Gang Center (Opens in New Tab)"The purpose of the NYGC is to assist policymakers, practitioners, and researchers in their efforts to reduce youth gang involvement and crime by contributing information, resources, practical tools, and expertise towards the development and implementation of effective gang prevention, intervention, and suppression strategies. " The site is searchable and includes online publications, gang-related news and legislation, conference and training links and funding links.
NeighborWorks America (Opens in New Tab)NeighborWorks America works through partnerships, public and private, to drive change at the local level for individuals, families and communities. Learn more about who we are and how we operate.
Office of Minority Health (Opens in New Tab)The Office of Minority Health (OMH) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) was created in 1986 as one of the most significant outcomes of the landmark 1985 Secretary's Task Force Report on Black and Minority Health. The mission of the Office of Minority Health is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
State Social Work Examiners Boards (Opens in New Tab)Licensing tests throughout the United States are created and administered by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). The ASWB develops the licensing tests by analyzing practice throughout the United States. The tests are based on what social workers do, as well as what they they know. They are designed to measure and establish a minimum level of practice competence and to protect the public from incompetent or poorly prepared practitioners.
Urban Institute (Opens in New Tab)President Lyndon B. Johnson founded the Urban Institute in 1968 to provide “power through knowledge” to help solve the problems that weighed heavily on the nation’s hearts and minds. Our organization was born at a tumultuous moment in American history, defined by severe political polarization, racial violence and segregation, and stark economic inequity. Early attempts to tackle discrimination and poverty were often shots in the dark without a clear understanding of whether new policies were working—or for whom.
