LibGuides: Political Science: Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

There are several freely available open educational resources related to Political Science. Browse the list below to learn more!

Textbooks & Teaching Materials

American Government (Opens in New Tab) Introductory textbook with selected primary source suggested references.
BC Open Collection: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats.
MERLOT Materials: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Open Textbook Library: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
USHistory.org: Independence Hall Association (Opens in New Tab) Three online textbooks: US History, American Government, and Ancient Civilizations.

Digital Collections

Cornell Open: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) Cornell Open is a global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press.
Data.gov (Opens in New Tab) Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Digital Public Library of America (Opens in New Tab) Discover 37,146,401 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
HathiTrust Digital Library (Opens in New Tab) HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
The Internet Archive: Political Science (Opens in New Tab) Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections (Opens in New Tab) Hundreds of digital collections containing maps, images, documents, letters, and more.
The National Archives and Records Administration (Opens in New Tab) Primary source materials for American history and governance, including information on Presidential Libraries, veteran records, and special resources for educators.
Political Database of the Americas (Opens in New Tab) Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
Political Science Commons (Opens in New Tab) The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Project Gutenberg: Politics Bookshelf (Opens in New Tab) Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks.
Southern Poverty Law Center Resources Portal (Opens in New Tab) Search SPLC publications, cases, Extremist Files, Intelligence Project articles, and more.