Bipartisan Policy Center (Opens in New Tab)"The Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) drives principled solutions through rigorous analysis, reasoned negotiation, and respectful dialogue.... it combines politically-balanced policy making with strong, proactive advocacy and outreach. This is the only Washington, DC-based think tank that actively promotes bipartisanship."
C-SPAN (Opens in New Tab)Current and archived political news coverage from C-SPAN, a not-for-profit collection of television networks "committed to televising the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate when they are in session. In addition, C-SPAN covers congressional hearings, White House press briefings, speeches, and other important public affairs events." Also find real-time audio for Senate hearings, a Congressional guide, media links, and much more. (LII)
Center for Global Development (Opens in New Tab)An "independent, non-partisan, non-profit think tank dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality through policy oriented research and engagement on development issues," the CGD's focus is on policies of the "United States and other industrial countries that affect development prospects in poor countries." Searchable. (LII)
Commission on Presidential Debates (Opens in New Tab)Find history about U.S. Presidential and Vice- Presidential debates, debate transcripts from 1960 to present, video reenactments of historical debates, news, and more. Includes tips for hosting a Debate watch, which "brings citizens like you together to watch the televised debates." (LII)
Council on Foreign Relations (Opens in New Tab)Provides links to important sites for the study of international relations, including every part of the US government, all the UN agencies, the constitutions of all of the nations of the world, maps of the Australian states, and much else.
Find Your Legislator (Opens in New Tab)FiscalNote was founded with the principle of bringing people closer to their governments. We’ve created a tool to help you quickly identify and contact elected officials including, members of Congress currently representing you. Regardless of your political affiliation, you have the power to make your voice heard by contacting your representatives and advocating for the issues that matter most to you.
Foreign Policy Association (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1918, the Foreign Policy Association (FPA) is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan, nongovernmental, educational organization whose purpose is educating Americans about significant international issues that influence their lives. Resources are provided for the FPA-sponsored Great Decisions discussion groups which meet throughout the United States each year to discuss foreign policy topics (new topics are chosen each year).
Pew Research Center - International Affairs (Opens in New Tab)"public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day."
Public Agenda Online (Opens in New Tab)" Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization." Its site presents "policy options and public opinion behind critical public concerns" such as abortion, crime, gay rights, illegal drugs, race, and the right to die. (LII)
U.S. Department of State (Opens in New Tab)This official site offers information reflecting the diverse activities of the U.S. Department of State. There is information on traveling and living abroad, international issues, business, and the department's educational and cultural programs. There are also press releases, recent news, background material on countries and regions, help with the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), and more. Searchable. (LII)
Code of Federal Regulations (Opens in New Tab)The CFR is divided into 50 titles which represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation, and each title is divided into chapters which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Searchable. (LII)
Federal Register (Opens in New Tab)"The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents".
FindLaw (Opens in New Tab)Contains "legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, businesses, students and individuals. These resources include Web search utilities, cases and codes, legal news, an online career center," and more. (LII)
Law Library of Congress (Opens in New Tab)A collection of links to legal resources for countries and territories of the world. Includes links to constitutions, general legal guides, specific country information, and executive, judicial, and legal branches. From the Law Library of Congress. (LII)
LII: Legal Information Institute (Opens in New Tab)Extensive materials on the law: brief summaries of law topics, with links to key primary sources; state and federal constitutions and codes; federal and state judicial opinions; federal, state, and international law by source or jurisdiction; current awareness resources, including "Eye on the Courts" (news on important court decisions); and directories of organizations, journals (law reviews), judges, lawyers, and law schools. (LII)
Supreme Court of the United States (Opens in New Tab)The Supreme Court's official site provides general information, opinions, term orders, argument calendar, schedules, court rules, bar admission forms and instructions, case-handling guides, special notices, biographies of current and past justices, architectural details, and press releases. Includes a search engine for finding documents. (LII)
U.S. Code (Opens in New Tab)"The Office of the Law Revision Counsel prepares and publishes the United States Code, which is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States".
