LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Open Access Journals

Open Access Journals

The following collections offer a multitude of open access academic journal articles.

BioStor (Opens in New Tab) Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library and related resources.

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ (Opens in New Tab) DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Open Library of Humanities: Journals (Opens in New Tab) Open access journals covering history, literature, foreign language, and more.
Open Science Framework - OSF (Opens in New Tab) OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration.
PLOS One (Opens in New Tab)
Science.gov (Opens in New Tab) Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Preprint Servers

Preprints are articles that are shared without undergoing peer review. Peer review is often required by many scholarly journals prior to an article's publication. However, these resources provide open access to articles that have not gone through that process.

ArXiv (Opens in New Tab) ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.
BioRXiv (Opens in New Tab) Pre-print articles in the biosciences. Not peer-reviewed.
ChemRxiv (Opens in New Tab) ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
PsyArXiv (Opens in New Tab) A free preprint service for the psychological sciences.
SocArXiv (Opens in New Tab) Open Preprint Archive of the social sciences.