LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Datasets

Datasets

Multidisciplinary Datasets

Data.gov (Opens in New Tab) The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. For information regarding the Coronavirus/COVID-19, please visit Coronavirus.gov.
Google Dataset Search (Opens in New Tab) Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Kaggle Datasets (Opens in New Tab) Explore, analyze, and share quality data.
Re3data (Opens in New Tab) Registry of research data repositories
Registry of Open Data on AWS (Opens in New Tab) This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via AWS (Amazon Web Services) resources.
U.S. Census Data (Opens in New Tab) Learn about America's communities through our data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. For each, we cover topics like education, employment, health, and housing just to name a few.

Business, Communication, & Leadership Datasets

Ad Council (Opens in New Tab) The Ad Council is the largest producer of public service advertising. We represent a unique collaboration between the advertising, media, and business communities.
American Association of Advertising Agencies (Opens in New Tab) The 4A's is dedicated to promoting and celebrating the very best the industry has to offer by sponsoring awards programs and special events, such as Advertising Week.
American Marketing Association (Opens in New Tab) AMA leads an unparalleled discussion on marketing excellence. Continuing in the tradition of Borden and so many others, the AMA offers differentiated content that focuses on the tension between Best Versus Next Practices.
American National Business Hall of Fame (Opens in New Tab) The American National Business Hall of Fame was established in 1972. The founders were university professors. The objective was to create awareness, understanding and appreciation of the American heritage of business leadership. The primary intended audience was university and high school students. The primary communication strategy was to develop stories of business leadership and deliver them in the classroom. The stories focused on historical business leaders who were named laureates.
AnnualReports.com (Opens in New Tab) A collection of hundreds of the annual reports and 10K reports of companies traded on the U.S. stock exchanges, including most of the Fortune 500. "Visitors are able to look for a company through 5 search criteria: alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, or by industry." Searchable. (LII)
Bureau of Labor Statistics (Opens in New Tab) Easy entry into the full range of economic data and analysis produced by BLS. Find the statistics and reports on employment and unemployment, price (such as the Consumer Price Index) living conditions, compensation, productivity, and much more. From the U.S. Department of Labor. (LII)
CBS MarketWatch Market Data (Opens in New Tab) Provides business news, financial information and analytical tools. Spnsored by Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
EDGAR (Opens in New Tab) Security's and Exchange Commission Database of corporate information. Data since 1994.
Gallup Datasets for Public Use (Opens in New Tab) Explore datasets made freely available to the public by Gallup's clients.
MarketingCharts (Opens in New Tab) Contains free, downloadable marketing charts and spreadsheets which contain statistics on the top ten within specific topic categories.
National Retail Federation (Opens in New Tab) As the world’s largest retail trade association and the voice of retail worldwide, NRF represents retailers of all types and sizes from the United States and more than 45 countries abroad including department stores, specialty, apparel, discount, online, independent, grocery and chain restaurants, among others.
U.S. Small Business Administration (Opens in New Tab) From the U.S. Small Business Administration
Yahoo! Finance (Opens in New Tab) This site for investing and personal finance provides U.S. and international stock quotes with minimal delay when markets are open, as well as historical stock quotes and other market information. Additional investment topics include general financial news, industry news, annual reports, and mutual fund, bond, and option information. Also includes links to more than 20 international sites. Personal finance subjects include loans, insurance, and taxes.

Humanities, Education, & Social Sciences Datasets

Add Health - National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Opens in New Tab) The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of over 20,000 adolescents who were in grades 7-12 during the 1994-95 school year, and have been followed for five waves to date, most recently in 2016-18.
American National Election Study (Opens in New Tab) To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education (Opens in New Tab) Download the data that appear on the College Scorecard, as well as supporting data on student completion, debt and repayment, earnings, and more.
General Social Survey Data Explorer (Opens in New Tab) Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.
The Humanitarian Data Exchange (Opens in New Tab) Find, share and use humanitarian data all in one place
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR (Opens in New Tab) ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data - NAJCD (Opens in New Tab) The source for data on crime and justice since 1978
National Center for Education Statistics - NCES (Opens in New Tab) The Administrative Data Division at NCES collects data from all state and local K-12 education agencies and from all postsecondary schools or institutions of higher education. Administrative data at NCES is organized by collections, which report on several different kinds of educational data that are of interest to the public, education professionals, researchers, and policymakers. Explore the five main data collections’ most recent data available and a schedule of upcoming releases.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism - NIAAA (Opens in New Tab) NIAAA is a source of authoritative data on alcohol epidemiology for researchers and the general public. Below are links to statistical summaries of data collected or compiled by NIAAA on alcohol consumption, alcohol-related mortality and morbidity, and other alcohol-related problems and consequences.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID (Opens in New Tab) The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics. The PSID is directed by faculty at the University of Michigan, and the data are available on this website without cost to researchers and analysts.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (Opens in New Tab) Explore SAMHSA data and analysis tools.
TIMSS and PIRLS (Opens in New Tab) TIMSS and PIRLS are international assessments that monitor trends in student achievement in mathematics, science, and reading. Currently 70 countries participate in the assessments, which have been conducted at regular intervals since 1995.
World Bank Open Data (Opens in New Tab) Free and open access to global development data

Health Datasets

BigBrain Project (Opens in New Tab) Creating the next generation of highly detailed human brain models by building on the BigBrain - the first openly accessible, microscopic resolution 3D model of the human brain.
Data.cdc.gov (Opens in New Tab)
Human Mortality Database (Opens in New Tab) The Human Mortality Database (HMD) is the world´s leading scientific data resource on mortality in developed countries. The HMD provides detailed high-quality harmonized mortality and population estimates to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the human longevity. The HMD follows open data principles.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (Opens in New Tab) NACDA acquires, preserves, and shares data relevant to gerontological research. We curate data and documentation to promote effective research use, facilitate data sharing across the research community, and provide data user support for our hosted data collections.
National Center for Health Statistics (Opens in New Tab) "The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics. Our products and services inform the public and guide program and policy decisions to improve our nation’s health."
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (Opens in New Tab) The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Biologic Specimen and Data Repository
NITRC Image Repository (Opens in New Tab) The NITRC Image Repository allows you to search for and freely download public datasets. It includes millions of dollars worth of DICOM and NIfTI images with normal and diagnoses such as child development disorders, Aspergers, Autism, ADHD, Parkinson’s and Schizophrenia.
NIH Open Domain-Specific Data Sharing Repositories (Opens in New Tab) This table lists NIH-supported domain-specific data repositories that make data accessible for reuse and are open for both submitting and accessing data. The list includes many repositories - an excellent resource.
OpenNeuro (Opens in New Tab) A free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (Opens in New Tab) "SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America."
UNICEF Data (Opens in New Tab) Monitoring the situation of children and women with open data
WHO Global Health Observatory (Opens in New Tab) "Explore a world of health data"

Science Datasets

CERN Open Data (Opens in New Tab) "Explore more than two petabytes of open data from particle physics!"
NASA's Open Data Portal (Opens in New Tab) NASA's Information Management Program team supports NASA’s efforts to provide access to research and open datasets in a format that is useful for you. In doing so, we hope to spark your creative juices and equip you with tools to innovate your world – whether local, global, or interstellar – by leveraging our digital assets. We may not be able to offer you the ride of your life on a spaceship (at least for now), but we can certainly work together to solve looming challenges here on Earth – using NASA data, tools, and resources.
NOAA OneStop (Opens in New Tab) A NOAA Data Search Platform. Geophysical, oceans, coastal, weather and climate data discovery all in one place.
Open Science Framework - OSF (Opens in New Tab) OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration. Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that might be helpful to your own research.
U.S. Geological Survey Data (Opens in New Tab) Browse real-time data, data releases and more from the US Geological Survey.
UCI Machine Learning Repository (Opens in New Tab) UCI MLR "currently maintain[s] 622 data sets as a service to the machine learning community."
Zenodo (Opens in New Tab) An open data repository created by CERN.