LibGuides: Nursing Theorists: Finding Articles

Philosophy Databases

Philosophy - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window

Health Databases

AHFS Consumer Medical Information This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Health - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
JAMA Network: Open This link opens in a new window
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window
MedLinePlus This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection - NEW This link opens in a new window
Psychology - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Library One Search This link opens in a new window
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Springer Open This link opens in a new window

Finding Research Articles That Refer to a Nursing Theory

Health EBSCOhost Databases

set limits to scholarly articles
use the following search terms:

(nursing models OR nursing theor*) AND (quantitative OR qualitative)

narrow the search by adding a search term

the name of a theorist -- such as Henderson
the name of a theory -- such as Orem self-care model
an area of interest -- such as end-of-life

CINAHL Headings

Click on the CINAHL headings above the search box
browse for Nursing Models, Theoretical

click on the hyperlink Nursing Models, Theoretical
check the box of the model of interest

Click the green Search Database button on the upper right
add (quantitative OR qualitative) to your search
click search

Search Google Scholar

How to Request an Article

Can't find the full text of an article you need?

Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials. Before requesting an article, check the Journal Finder search to make sure the library does not own or have electronic access to the journal you need. Simply type in the journal title and search!

Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Nursing Theorists: Finding Articles