Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Opens in New Tab)
The "lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people," an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services. Information includes a directory of the CDC's component centers, institutes, and offices; training programs; publications and statistics; conferences and health campaigns; and sections on many health topics. (LII)
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (Opens in New Tab)
CMS is the federal agency that provides health coverage to more than 160 million through Medicare, Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program, and the Health Insurance Marketplace. CMS works in partnership with the entire health care community to improve quality, equity and outcomes in the health care system.
HealthFinder (Opens in New Tab)
This site for consumers contains a directory of health organizations and links to hundreds of sites featuring "government and nonprofit health and human services information." Includes news, articles, and a Kids section. Searchable, and browsable by topic. (LII)
National Cancer Institute (Opens in New Tab)
Information here is reviewed by oncology experts and is based on the results of current research. In " Cancer Information," find types of cancer, treatment, prevention, the role of genetics, and causes; screening and testing; coping with cancer; support resources; cancer literature; and PDQ (Physician Data Query), a database with the latest information about treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, care, and clinical trials. (LII)
National Health Information Center (Opens in New Tab)
The heart of this site is its Health Information Resource Database, which includes thousands of U.S. organizations and government offices that provide health information on request. Included are a list of toll-free health information telephone numbers and federal health information centers and clearinghouses. Browse by subject or search by title, keyword, city, or state.(LII)
National Institutes of Health (Opens in New Tab)
General health information, publications, news, and events; grants and funding opportunities; health resources; and an annotated directory of the more than twenty-five individual medical and research organizations that make up the US National Institutes of Health. (LII)
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory (Opens in New Tab)
The Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture provides detailed information about the nutritional values of more than a thousand foods here. Users may search by individual food, including many brand-name products, or by nutrient, e.g. calcium, fiber, and fat. (LII)
World Health Organization (Opens in New Tab)
The site for this United Nations program provides information about current disease outbreaks, health programs, emergencies, profiles of health systems in member states, links to health topics and research tools, and publications. (LII)
Healthcare Organizations
Alzheimer's Association (Opens in New Tab)
Contains information on the causes, warning signs, diagnosis, and treatment of Alzheimer's Disease; statistics, fact sheets, and reports; a glossary; an index to clinical trials; resources for diverse communities (African American, Chinese, Hispanic/Latino, and Korean); and more. Also available in Spanish. Searchable. (LII)
American Cancer Society (Opens in New Tab)
"The American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and American Heart Association have joined together in a historic collaboration to encourage the prevention and early detection of cancer, diabetes, heart disease and stroke." The site provides suggestions about healthy eating, exercise, quitting smoking, and medical screenings. Also includes links to interactive tools on these topics. In English and Spanish. (LII)
American College of Sports Medicine (Opens in New Tab)
This college "promotes and integrates scientific research, education, and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life." The website features guidelines for healthy aerobic activity, calculate your exercise heart rate range, locate an ACSM-certified health professional in your area, and view a brochure about Careers in Sports Medicine and Exercise Science. (LII)
American Diabetes Association (Opens in New Tab)
Contains research news and treatment advances, legislative and advocacy updates, clinical practice recommendations, fact sheets and self-care tips for patients, information on Type 1 (juvenile) and Type 2 (adult onset) diabetes, articles, and a dictionary of related terms. Also features information about grants and research projects, groups affected by diabetes, and risk factors. Includes information in Spanish. (LII)
American Heart Association (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of this organization is to "reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke." The site includes information on heart attack, stroke, and cardiac arrest warning signs; heart diseases and conditions; tips for maintaining a healthy lifestyle; statistics; and more. Also available in Spanish. (LII)
American Lung Association (Opens in New Tab)
The American Lung Association "fights lung disease in all its forms, with special emphasis on asthma, tobacco control and environmental health." The site contains information on lung diseases, treatment options, quitting smoking, air quality, and the human respiratory system. Includes a list of local chapters. Also available in Spanish. (LII)
American Nurses Association (Opens in New Tab)
“The Nursing Insider… tracks news items that will be of general interest, including those that deal with the changing landscape of health care policy and service-provisioning across the United States.” In addition to the Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, “the Publications section contains a number of free publications, including several that address the possibility of pursuing a career in nursing and some general fact sheets about the organization.” (ISP)
American Psychological Association (Opens in New Tab)
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 157,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
American Red Cross (Opens in New Tab)
The site of this "emergency response organization" contains news, press releases, FAQs, and information on disaster preparedness, post-disaster dangers, giving blood, services for military members and families, and more. (LII)
The Arc (Opens in New Tab)
The ARC of the United States advocates for the rights and full participation of all children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
Hospice Foundation of America (Opens in New Tab)
This site provides information about programs for the support of the terminally ill and those who are grieving. Visitors can search for hospice locations, access links to legal aid, locate articles and materials on grief issues, find out about hospice benefits and services, learn about grief training, and Ask Helen for grief advice online. (LII)
March of Dimes (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of the March of Dimes is “to improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth, and infant mortality”. Their Website has links to resources related to health issues regarding pregnancy and infants.
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (Opens in New Tab)
Features a database of hospices in the United States searchable by state, then by city, county, or Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). Site contains basic information about hospice and palliative care, a FAQ, and related links. (LII)
National League for Nursing (Opens in New Tab)
“The National League for Nursing advances excellence in nursing education that prepares the nursing workforce to meet the needs of diverse populations in an ever-changing healthcare environment.” Site includes public policy and career information.
Global Health Data Exchange (Opens in New Tab)
Welcome to the GHDx, the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. It’s the place to start your health data search. Learn more about the catalog in GHDx Help.
Global Health Observatory - WHO (Opens in New Tab)
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States and each edition supersedes the previous one.
International Health Care System Profiles - Commonwealth Fund (Opens in New Tab)
The 2020 edition of International Profiles of Health Care Systems is a resource for learning about health care systems around the world. Users can find information on how nations organize, govern, and finance their health systems; efforts to improve quality of care, contain costs, and reduce racial and ethnic disparities; innovations in health care delivery; and other recent reforms.
AHRQ - Data & Analytics (Opens in New Tab)
The AHRQ Data Tools allow you to explore AHRQ data sources in depth through bar charts, trend charts, geographic maps, and more. Create and download charts and datasets to support your research.
CDC WONDER Database (Opens in New Tab)
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
ChildStats.gov (Opens in New Tab)
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
HealthData.gov (Opens in New Tab)
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (Opens in New Tab)
We develop statistical analyses and reports on a broad range of topics, operate VA’s data and statistics Web portal to disseminate Veteran data and statistics, and develop estimates and projections on Veteran populations.
NIMH - Statistics (Opens in New Tab)
Research shows that mental illnesses are common in the United States, affecting tens of millions of people each year. Estimates suggest that only half of people with mental illnesses receive treatment. The information on these pages includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health - Data (Opens in New Tab)
Research shows that substance use and mental illnesses are common in the United States, affecting millions of people each year. SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.
Pennsylvania Health Statistics
Health Statistics - Commonwealth of PA (Opens in New Tab)
Our statistical products cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research, and public inquiry. All statistical reports and webpages are maintained by the Health Informatics Office within the Pennsylvania Department of Health
PHC4 Data (Opens in New Tab)
Our reports highlight the cost and quality of health care throughout the state, so you can make informed decisions about your care.
State Health Facts - KFF (Opens in New Tab)
State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations. Data presented on State Health Facts are updated or added as new data become available; the update schedule varies from indicator to indicator. The availability of older or “archived” data is limited and varies by indicator. Please contact us to inquire about a specific indicator.
Injuries, Illness, and Fatalities - U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (Opens in New Tab)
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).
