The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Art.
Fine Art
AATA Online (Opens in New Tab)Abstracts for conservation and preservation literature from the Getty Conservation Institute
Artcyclopedia (Opens in New Tab)An index to the online exhibits of thousands of artists, searchable by artist's name and browsable by movement, medium, subject of art, nationality of artist, or women artists. Entries include links to museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. The focus is primarily painting and sculpture, but a smattering of other media (architecture and decorative arts, for example) are represented. The site also has archived monthly articles on art, and a museum directory. (LII)
Art History Resources on the Web (Opens in New Tab)Provides a gateway to resources on art history from ancient times to the present day. There are links to research resources, an extensive list of museums and galleries by country, online journals, exhibits, and university art departments. Time periods are divided into countries, cultures, and styles. Noted individual artists are also included.(LII)
Artist Index (Opens in New Tab)Provides biographical information for many well-known artists and displays high quality photos of their major works.
Artsy (Opens in New Tab)Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. Our growing collection comprises 100,000+ artworks by 18,000+ artists from leading art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.
Getty Union List of Artists' Names (Opens in New Tab)A database "containing more than 225,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants." Searchable by name, role, and nationality, and browsable by alphabet. From the Getty Research Institute. (LII)
New York Public Library Digital Gallery (Opens in New Tab)This site "provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library [NYPL], including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more." Searchable, or browsable by collection, such as art and literature, cities and buildings, industry and technology, and nature and science. (LII)
Web Gallery of Art (Opens in New Tab)Contains over ten thousand images of "European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800)." Searchable, and browsable by name of artist. Includes selected annotations, guided tours of the collection, and a glossary of related terms. (LII)
Street Art
Art Crimes (Opens in New Tab)Art Crimes has been around since 1994 and has an unmatched historical collection of street art and graffiti related images. It also has a collection of research, essays, and interviews with graffiti/street artists and scholars available.
Mural Arts in Philadelphia (Opens in New Tab)Originally part of an effort to rid the city of Philadelphia of graffiti, this program began in 1984 as a way to get graffiti artists to work on communal art projects as opposed to vandalism...The program has helped create more than 3,000 murals, and it serves as an excellent example of how street art programs can have a positive impact on people and their surroundings.
Fatcap (Opens in New Tab)This resource began as a simple image sharing gallery but has since become a portal for artists to have their own pages to share their work. Fat Cap now offers coverage of street art related materials including news, articles, and events.
Global Street Art (Opens in New Tab)Global Street Art creators are striving to develop a digital (and physical) museum for street art to highlight the work of international street artists.
Graffuturism (Opens in New Tab)This blog does a great job of keeping up with street art related news, trends, and gallery events around the globe. They also have exclusive interviews with artists with transcripts and videos.
International Graffiti Archive (Opens in New Tab)"This archive is solely focused on illegal graffiti with the goal being to collect, preserve, and provide accessible and continuing evidence of the existence of illegal graffiti, which the curators feel is often underapprciated."
Living Walls (Opens in New Tab)This Atlanta based nonprofit organization was founded in 2009. Their annual conference includes film screenings, lectures, and exhibitions. The goal is to create dialogue about public art.
Street Art Utopia (Opens in New Tab)This website allows users to submit images of street art to be included on the site or social media. Street Art Utopia focuses solely on street art from across the world, including painting, stenciling, stickers, and even yarn bombing.
Vandalog (Opens in New Tab)This blog displays high quality street art related images but also provides insightful commentary providing context and information about the artists' style, history, and methods.
Wooster Collective (Opens in New Tab)The Wooster Collective aggregates works of street art from across the globe, interviews with street artists, exhibitions and gallery events, as well as videos highlighting street art related projects. The Wooster Collection also has a directory of links to websites of artists.
