There are several freely available open educational resources related to Art. Browse the list below to learn more!
Textbooks & Teaching Tools
Americans for the Arts: Arts Education Navigator E-book Series (Opens in New Tab)Through a partnership with Vans Custom Culture, Americans for the Arts has designed the Arts Education Navigator, Read more about our partnership with Vans.a series of e-books designed to help educators, students, and advocates navigate the complex field of arts education.
Art History Teaching Resources (Opens in New Tab)AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.
MERLOT Materials: Arts (Opens in New Tab)The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Project Gutenberg Art Bookshelf (Opens in New Tab)This bookshelf presents a selection of art books and books about artists, including practical methods and specialties, as well as general works on art and art history, plus visitor guides to art expos, galleries, and museums
Museum Collections
Art Institute of Chicago Online Collection (Opens in New Tab)Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s collection—from our renowned icons to lesser-known works from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
Guggenheim Online Collection (Opens in New Tab)Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim's permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks.
The Met Collection (Opens in New Tab)The Museum's Open Access initiative, [] makes more than 406,000 images of public-domain artworks from The Met collection available for free and unrestricted use.
Musée du Louvre Online Collection (Opens in New Tab)The Collections database consists of entries for more than 500,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums.
