Digital Transgender Archive (Opens in New Tab)The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among dozens of colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Discovering American Women's History Online (Opens in New Tab)"This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s."
Feminist Majority Foundation (Opens in New Tab)Up-to-date news and commentary and resources on politics, student activism, research, and much more; includes many related links. From "a cutting edge organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence."(LII)
Independent Women's Forum (Opens in New Tab)"The Independent Women's Forum’s (IWF) mission is to rebuild civil society by advancing economic liberty, personal responsibility, and political freedom. IWF fosters greater respect for limited government, equality under the law, property rights, free markets, strong families, and a powerful and effective national defense and foreign policy."
National Organization for Women (Opens in New Tab)"NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society."
Website includes news items, action alerts,in depth information on topics of interest, locations of chapters, a shop, and more.
Office on Women's Health - DOH (Opens in New Tab)The Office on Women's Health (OWH), part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), works to improve the health and sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls. OWH serves as the focal point for women's health activities across HHS offices and agencies and leads HHS efforts to ensure that all women and girls achieve the best possible health.
Schlesinger Library on the History of Women (Opens in New Tab)"The Schlesinger Library holdings date from the founding of the United States to the present and include more than 3,200 manuscript collections, 100,000 volumes of books and periodicals, and films, photos, and audiovisual material."
Shalvi/Hyman Encyclopedia of Jewish Women (Opens in New Tab)"This encyclopedia seeks to make available... the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia."
VAWnet (Opens in New Tab)"select resources on specific topics related to violence against women that provide contextual information to encourage critical analysis"
WomanStats Project (Opens in New Tab)"most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world.
The WomanStats Project collects data on all countries with a population greater than 200,000--a total of 174 countries. We code over 300 variables on data that includes laws, statistics, and practices within countries; the information available ranges from data on domestic violence to female landownership to political participation."
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites (Opens in New Tab)"a selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program"
