Global Biodiversity Outlook (Opens in New Tab)
Convened after the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, the Convention on Biological Diversity has three primary goals: the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits from the use of genetic resources. The main body of the organization's home page is dedicated to disseminating information about upcoming meetings, news, and events, such as the expert meeting on the global strategy for plant conservation and the various constituent groups that make up the Convention. The number of online documents available here is quite prodigious, and is divided into groups that include quarterly reports, global biodiversity outlook reports, and case-study documents. Users may elect to browse through these collections, or choose to use the search engine. (ISP)
Earth Charter Initiative (Opens in New Tab)
The Earth Charter is a declaration of fundamental principles for building a just, sustainable, and peaceful global society for the 21st century. (ECI)
Encyclopedia of Life (Opens in New Tab)
"The EOL dynamically synthesizes biodiversity knowledge about all known species, including their taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being..."
EnviroLink (Opens in New Tab)
EnviroLink is a non-profit organization… a grassroots online community that unites hundreds of organizations and volunteers around the world with millions of people in almost every country in the world. EnviroLink is dedicated to providing comprehensive, up-to-date environmental information and news.
Foodprint (Opens in New Tab)
FoodPrint will help you make food choices that do less harm to the environment, animals and people.
FracTracker (Opens in New Tab)
FracTracker, the project, was originally developed to investigate health concerns and data gaps surrounding western PA fracking. Today, as a non-profit organization, FracTracker Alliance supports groups across the United States, addressing pressing extraction-related concerns with a lens toward health effects and exposure risks on communities from oil and gas development. We provide timely and provocative data, ground-breaking analyses, maps, and other visual tools to help advocates, researchers, and the concerned public better understand the harms posed by hydrocarbon extraction.
Global Biodiversity Outlook (Opens in New Tab)
Convened after the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, the Convention on Biological Diversity has three primary goals: the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits from the use of genetic resources. The main body of the organization's home page is dedicated to disseminating information about upcoming meetings, news, and events, such as the expert meeting on the global strategy for plant conservation and the various constituent groups that make up the Convention. The number of online documents available here is quite prodigious, and is divided into groups that include quarterly reports, global biodiversity outlook reports, and case-study documents. Users may elect to browse through these collections, or choose to use the search engine. (ISP)
Indigenous Environmental Network (Opens in New Tab)
IEN is an alliance of Indigenous Peoples whose Shared Mission is to Protect the Sacredness of Earth Mother from contamination & exploitation by Respecting and Adhering to Indigenous Knowledge and Natural Law.
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy (Opens in New Tab)
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy is a free electronic journal that provides a platform for the dissemination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability. The e-Journal fills a gap in the literature by establishing a forum for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical and social sciences, practices, and policies related to sustainability. (SSPP)
Sustainable Shopping Tips (Opens in New Tab)
"Supporting the green economy is more than being informed—it’s about following through and “voting with your dollar” as we call it. Where you shop and what you buy when you do sends a message to business owners. And it helps sustainable businesses stay afloat in a deal-driven market."
World Resources Institute (Opens in New Tab)
This Web site from the World Resources Institute is a conglomeration of global data on a broad range of environmental topics that range from biodiversity to governmental institutions. The databases can be searched by subject or region, and can produce data for multiple countries at one time. A large number of specific data queries are provided. The site is easy to use, and is a fast reference source for producing distinct statistics. Search results include data sources for those users looking for further information. Searchable.(ISP)
Climate Change Websites
Arctic Climate Impact Assessment (Opens in New Tab)
The goal of the Arctic Climate Impact Assessment (ACIA) is to evaluate and synthesize knowledge on climate variability, climate change, and increased ultraviolet radiation and their consequences. The aim is to provide useful and reliable information to the governments, organizations and peoples of the Arctic on policy options to meet such changes. (ACIA)
Climate Monitoring - NCEI (Opens in New Tab)
NCEI maintains a suite of monitoring services that track key climate indicators using objective methods to provide historical context for current environmental conditions. Climate Monitoring services supply detailed information about temperature and precipitation, snow and ice, drought and wildfire, storms and wind, and weather patterns.
Paleoclimatology - NOAA (Opens in New Tab)
Mission: To provide the paleoclimate data and information needed to understand and model inter-annual to centennial-scale environmental variability.
AASHE (Opens in New Tab)
“ AASHE is an association of colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada working to create a sustainable future. It was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education - from governance and operations to curriculum and outreach - through education, communication, research and professional development.”
Campus Race to Zero Waste (Opens in New Tab)
RecycleMania is a friendly competition among university recycling programs in the United States that provides students with a fun, proactive activity in waste reduction. Over a 10-week period, schools compete in different contests to see which institution can collect the largest amount of recyclables, the least amount of trash, and have the highest recycling rate. (RM)
College and University Recycling Coalition (Opens in New Tab)
A membership-based non- profit organization facilitating the exchange of technical knowledge and best practices on recycling and waste reduction programs among institutions of higher learning. (CURC)
EcoLeaders: National Wildlife Foundation (Opens in New Tab)
"National Wildlife Federation's Campus Ecology Program has been helping transform the nation's college and university campuses into living models of an ecologically sustainable society, and training a new generation of environmental leaders." Links to resources, campus projects and case studies. (CE)
State of the Campus Environment Report (Opens in New Tab)
This website provides information about resources, training sessions, internships, and fellowships with the purpose of "promoting positive and practical conservation projects on campus and beyond to protect wildlife by restoring habitat and slowing global warming."
WasteWise (Opens in New Tab)
WasteWise offers assistance to colleges and universities in developing comprehensive solid waste reduction programs.
Berks County Recycling Centers (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of the Berks County Recycling Center is to direct recycling operations throughout the County in a cost-effective, environmentally safe, reliable and efficient manner. One of their goals is to “Work with municipalities, schools & businesses to help them establish recycling programs”. (BCRC)
Hawk Mountain (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Association is to conserve birds of prey worldwide by providing leadership in raptor conservation science and education, and by maintaining Hawk Mountain Sanctuary as a model observation, research and education facility. (HM)
Maiden Creek Watershed Association (Opens in New Tab)
The MWCA is a non-Profit organization
whose mission is to promote awareness of the Maiden Creek Watershed as a valuable resource through community education and monitoring. (MWCA)
Pennsylvania Environmental Council (Opens in New Tab)
The Pennsylvania Environmental Council (PEC) protects and restores the natural and built environments through innovation, collaboration, education and advocacy. PEC believes in the value of partnerships with the private sector, government, communities and individuals to improve the quality of life for all Pennsylvanians.
