LibGuides: Sport Management: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

List of Databases A-Z (Opens in New Tab)

Miscellaneous Relevant Databases

Sport Management sits at the crossroads of relevance to athletic training, social sciences, education, and business. The following databases are selected to hold relevance to your program.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window APA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Education Journals - ProQuest This link opens in a new window To access this database off-campus, you may need to click on the Open Athens tile and search Alvernia by name. Then sign in.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.SocINDEX also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Coverage dates as far back as 1895. Includes journals books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

Business & Law Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier features the full text for more than 2,100 journals.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.Accessing Nexis Uni requires an account. You can create an account while on the campus network. Please contact a librarian for help creating an account from off-campus.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Access the Wall Street Journal online. Alvernia students, staff, and faculty can create a free account using their Alvernia email address. Your account password does not need to match your Alvernia credentials, but in order to get access you MUST use your Alvernia email.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Covers a broad array of subjects including biology, chemistry, physics, education, health, psychology, religion & theology, and social work.Academic Search ™ Premier contains indexing for 8,200 publications, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles. Over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals are indexed, with full text for 3,600 titles.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Find background information, definitions, and basic explanations of concepts and theories
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, (short for Journal Storage) covers journals in business, economics, education, history, political science, literature, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions
Springer Open This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of open access journals.

How to Request an Article

Once in a while, you may come across journal articles that are not immediately available in full text online. In that case, you can request full text of the article using our Interlibrary Loan service.

You can either do this from in the database's search results by selecting "Request this item through interlibrary loan" or by manually filling out the ILL request form, linked below.

This service is free to all students, faculty, and staff!

Note - when completing the Tipasa ILL request, make sure you select the form for the correct item format! Options include request an article, book, or non-print item.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form - NEW (Opens in New Tab)