All About Learning Disabilities and ADHD (Opens in New Tab)
This national education service, in partnership with PBS in Washington, D.C., offers informational pages for several different topics relating to special education and learning disabilities.
Beach Center on Disability (Opens in New Tab)
"The Beach Center on Disability consists of a rehabilitation research and training center on policies and families...and a research center on the ethical, legal, and social implications of the Human Genome Project".
CSEFEL (Opens in New Tab)
The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning (CSEFEL) is focused on promoting the social emotional development and school readiness of young children birth to age 5. CSEFEL is a national resource center funded by the Office of Head Start and Child Care Bureau for disseminating research and evidence-based practices to early childhood programs across the country.
Family Voices (Opens in New Tab)
"Family Voices is a national grassroots network of families and friends which advocates for health care services and provides information for families with children and youth with special health care needs".
Iris Center (Opens in New Tab)
Vanderbilt University's Iris Center lists resources about topics such as accommodations, learning strategies and transition.
Kids Together (Opens in New Tab)
“This site is designed to provide helpful information and resources to enhance the quality of life for children and adults with disabilities, and communities as a whole”.
National Association of Private Special Education Centers (Opens in New Tab)
“NAPSEC is a non-profit association whose mission is to represent private special education centers and their leaders. Together, we promote high quality programs for individuals with disabilities and their families and we advocate for access to the continuum of alternative placements and service”.
National Association of Special Education Teachers (Opens in New Tab)
The National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET) is a national membership organization dedicated to rendering all possible support and assistance to those preparing for or teaching in the field of special education. NASET was founded to promote the profession of special education teachers and to provide a national forum for their ideas.
National Disability Rights Network (Opens in New Tab)
NDRN is the nonprofit membership organization for the federally mandated Protection and Advocacy (P&A) Systems and Client Assistance Programs (CAP). Collectively, the P&A/CAP network is the largest provider of legally based advocacy services to people with disabilities in the United States.
Through the Looking Glass (Opens in New Tab)
"Through the Looking Glass is a nationally recognized center that has pioneered research, training, and services for families in which a child, parent or grandparent has a disability or medical issue".
General Education Websites
Berks County Intermediate Unit (Opens in New Tab)
Berks County Intermediate Unit offers a wide range of diverse services, including alternative and special education, early intervention, child care, services to at-risk students and students with disabilities, as well as curriculum, instruction, and professional staff development. BCIU also provides business and information management services, instructional media services, public relations services, pupil transportation, and many other varied services. (BCIU)
Disability Services - USA.gov (Opens in New Tab)
"The federal government's one-stop Web site for information of interest to people with disabilities, their families, employers, service providers and many others."
Discovery Education Blog (Opens in New Tab)
The Discovery Education blog is a free resource for educators to find time-saving teaching strategies and compelling content for their daily lessons.
Educator's Reference Desk (Opens in New Tab)
This site gives access to "2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. ... [It also] provides a search interface to the ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice." The database is updated monthly and includes citations from 1966 to the present. Searchable. From the Information Institute of Syracuse (LII)
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - HMH (Opens in New Tab)
This site has K-12 resources for teachers, parents, and children in the areas of language arts, mathematics, and social studies. It includes games; project materials; searchable, annotated resource links; and more. Browsable by a number of criteria including topic and grade level. From the Houghton Mifflin publishing firm. (LII)
Illuminations: Math Lessons (Opens in New Tab)
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics website has over 500 lesson plans which can be accessed by by grade level, subtopic, or searching a specific topic.
Library of Congress - Teachers (Opens in New Tab)
Teachers, created by the Library of Congress (LC), is intended to serve as a "dashboard" for educators by linking to many of the institution's educational resources, including teachers' guides and lesson plans as well as several high-quality digitized holdings. (ISP)
PA Department of Education - Certification (Opens in New Tab)
The Pennsylvania Department of Education Division of Certification Services oversees educator certification within the commonwealth. All of the information and resources for becoming a certified educator in Pennsylvania are available via the navigation boxes below.
USA.gov - Education (Opens in New Tab)
Learn about Federal Student Aid and studying in the U.S. Find early intervention, special education, and Head Start programs. Get help with child care costs. Find a library.
Child Stats.gov (Opens in New Tab)
This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. (CS)
Digest of Education Statistics (Opens in New Tab)
The Digest’s primary purpose is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. (DES)
Diversity in STEM Data (Opens in New Tab)
National Science Foundation data on the participation of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities in science and engineering education and employment.
Education Finance Statistics Center (Opens in New Tab)
This site contains surveys, reports, and other government information on U.S. elementary and secondary public and private education finance, as well as graphs and charts depicting national and state comparison data. There is also a Peer Search database which enables users to compare the finances of a school district with districts sharing similar characteristics, plus a section on school finance litigation. Part of the National Center for Education Statistics Web site. (LII)
International Activities Program (Opens in New Tab)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), through the International Activities Program and the Annual Reports Program, collects, analyzes, and disseminates "statistics and other data related to education in the United States and other nations." The site includes education indicators and trends in mathematics and science, reading, civic education, and adult literacy. Data also available relating to primary, secondary, and higher education. (LII)
NCHEMS Information Center (Opens in New Tab)
Information and comparative data for states regarding postsecondary education. Includes maps, graphs, and data about preparation, participation, affordability, student learning, completion, benefits, employment, and finance. Also includes special analyses, race/ethnicity data for selected states, answers to policy questions, and interactive data and map generation features. From the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems. (LII)
Social Science Data Analysis Network (Opens in New Tab)
"CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends. ... With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for generalists and specialists." Includes charts, maps, and ranking for national, state, metro, and county data from the 2000, 1990, and 1980 censuses (and sometimes earlier). Browsable from many data entry points. From the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. (LII)
U.S. Department of Education (Opens in New Tab)
The mission of the Department of Education (ED) is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access for students of all ages. Learn more about our mission, offices within ED, key initiatives, and more.
