LibGuides: Social Sciences: Open Educational Resources

There are several freely available open educational resources related to the Social Sciences. Browse the list below to learn more!

BC Open Collection: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) Quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats.
InTechOpen: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) Publisher of open access books, built by scientists for scientists.
Introduction to Sociology (Opens in New Tab) Open textbook from Lumen Learning.
MERLOT Materials: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
National Academies Press: Behavioral & Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year... providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
OER Commons: Social Science (Opens in New Tab) OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
OpenStax: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) Peer-reviewed, openly licensed free textbooks.
Open Textbook Library: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

Cornell Open: Sociology (Opens in New Tab) Cornell Open is a global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press.
Data.gov (Opens in New Tab) Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Digital Commons Network: Sociology Commons (Opens in New Tab) The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
HathiTrust Digital Library (Opens in New Tab) HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Social Sciences (Opens in New Tab) Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Project Gutenberg: Social Sciences Bookshelf (Opens in New Tab) Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks.