The following websites have been selected for use in patient education.
General Patient Education Resources
Consumer Product Information Database (Opens in New Tab)Disclosing chemical ingredients in products provides essential information throughout the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers. Information about the ingredients of products and their health effects allow consumers to make better informed choices.The development of this database was initiated in 1994 by DeLima Associates of McLean, Virginia, USA in response to a need for a database (identified by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention), that related household product types, brand names, chemical constituents, health-related information (acute and chronic effects and target organs), and exposure minimization techniques.
HealthFinder (Opens in New Tab)This site for consumers contains a directory of health organizations and links to hundreds of sites featuring "government and nonprofit health and human services information." Includes news, articles, and a Kids section. Searchable, and browsable by topic. (LII)
Johns Hopkins - Patient Education (Opens in New Tab)Welcome! At Johns Hopkins, we want patients and caregivers like you to feel equipped to take control of your health care. There are some terrific tools and resources available to help make complex medical information easy to understand.
Krames Online (Opens in New Tab)Krames Online offers trusted, easy-to-read information on more than 4,000 health and medication topics, including conditions, treatments and procedures. As the most up-to-date education resource for Advocate Health Care and Aurora Health Care patients, this online library can help you learn more about the concerns you discuss with your doctor and care team. Advocate Health Care and Aurora Health Care are committed to making sure you get the care you need when you need it.
Merck Manual - Consumer Version (Opens in New Tab)First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (Opens in New Tab)The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative health approaches. We are 1 of the 27 Institutes, Centers, and Offices that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Pediatric Patient Education - AAP (Opens in New Tab)Pediatric Patient Education is a comprehensive online library of patient handouts spanning from birth through young adulthood published by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
How the Body Works (Opens in New Tab)Hey, kids! Find out how the parts of your body work — from your heart to your brain, your nose to your nails, Chloe and Nurb show you the wonders of your magic self.
TEDEd: Getting Under Our Skin (Opens in New Tab)From the big questions (why is cancer so hard to cure?) to the everyday concerns (why does your breath smell so bad?), this series aims to answer all the questions and curiosities you may have about your body, and will help you understand the incredible machinery inside you.
