LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

List of Databases A-Z (Opens in New Tab)

Health Databases

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window This valuable resource provides full text for over 550 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Searches six Cochrane Library databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). CDSR, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
ICE Learning Center with StrokeHelp This link opens in a new window Short video clips, easy to search and select, illustrating a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Your campus subscription provides 24/7 access to the entire ICE Video Library for faculty & students and faculty access to resources in the Faculty Toolkit.
JAMA Network: Open This link opens in a new window An open access health policy journal from the JAMA network.
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window Searches the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, a fully refereed library that publishes systematic reviews of literature following the JBI methodology.
MedLinePlus This link opens in a new window Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues for patients and their families in language you can understand. MedLinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window An evidence-based natural medicines resource designed for healthcare professionals.The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is recognized as the scientific gold standard for evidence-based information on natural medicines. Leaders in conventional medicine as well as complementary, alternative, and integrative medicine recognize the Database as the go-to resource for the most complete and practical information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 22 million citations in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window This evidence-based, point-of-care resource is for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. With Rehabilitation Reference Center, therapists can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

Health-Related Databases

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window APA PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), covers peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans from 1894 to present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window APA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
BioMed Central (BMC) This link opens in a new window Open access database for the biological and medical sciences.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 - present.
Education Journals - ProQuest This link opens in a new window To access this database off-campus, you may need to click on the Open Athens tile and search Alvernia by name. Then sign in.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It includes areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.The Department of Education ERIC site can be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov/ The content is the same as in EBSCO ERIC. The only difference is the interface.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window "Contains context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness."
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 2010 to today.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Information on current social issues: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to selected web sites.
PubChem This link opens in a new window Quickly find chemical information from authoritative sources.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.SocINDEX also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Coverage dates as far back as 1895. Includes journals books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Covers a broad array of subjects including biology, chemistry, physics, education, health, psychology, religion & theology, and social work.Academic Search ™ Premier contains indexing for 8,200 publications, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles. Over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals are indexed, with full text for 3,600 titles.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Find background information, definitions, and basic explanations of concepts and theories
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, (short for Journal Storage) covers journals in business, economics, education, history, political science, literature, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions
Springer Open This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of open access journals.

Open Access Health Databases

BioMed Central (BMC) This link opens in a new window Open access database for the biological and medical sciences.

BioRXiv (Opens in New Tab) Pre-print articles in the biosciences. Not peer-reviewed.
BioStor (Opens in New Tab) Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library and related resources.
ECRI Guidelines Trust Publicly accessible evidence-based clinical guideline repository from the organization that managed the federal government's Guideline Clearinghouse (shut down 2018.) Many guidelines have summaries and TRUST Scorecards (TM). Links to publishers' websites (may not include full text) for all guidelines. *Registration required

MedLinePlus This link opens in a new window Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues for patients and their families in language you can understand. MedLinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families.

MedRXiv "Preprint servers are websites that enable scientists to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community before they submit them to scientific journals...Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
National Academies Press (Opens in New Tab) The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year... providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
PsyArXiv (Opens in New Tab) A free preprint service for the psychological sciences.

PubChem This link opens in a new window Quickly find chemical information from authoritative sources.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 22 million citations in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Science.gov (Opens in New Tab) Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Database Controlled Vocabularies

Some databases have their own specific terminologies that they use for advanced search capabilities.

Two examples of this are PubMed (which uses Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH) and CINAHL (which uses CINAHL Subject Headings). The tutorials below are available if you're interested in learning more about these methods.

About Medical Subject Headings or MeSH Learn all about MeSH terms from the National Library of Medicine.
Branching Out: The MeSH Voacabulary "This 11-minute video is an introduction to the development, structure and use of the MeSH® vocabulary. The video may be of particular interest to searchers of MEDLINE®/PubMed®, and is used in the PubMed search classes offered by NLM and the National Training Center and Clearinghouse."
Introduction: What is MeSH? This brief tutorial is designed to help you: understand the purpose and structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and use MeSH to search MEDLINE®/PubMed® for medical literature and information.
Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query Learn how to use MeSH terms in PubMed
Using CINAHL & MeSH Terms Brief tutorial on how to use subject headings in CINAHL with Full Text Database.

How to Request an Article

Once in a while, you may come across journal articles that are not immediately available in full text online. In that case, you can request full text of the article using our Interlibrary Loan service.

You can either do this from in the database's search results by selecting "Request this item through interlibrary loan" or by manually filling out the ILL request form, linked below.

This service is free to all students, faculty, and staff!

Note - when completing the Tipasa ILL request, make sure you select the form for the correct item format! Options include request an article, book, or non-print item.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form - NEW (Opens in New Tab)