LibGuides: Effective Leadership in Healthcare Organizations: Finding Articles

Health Databases

AHFS Consumer Medical Information This link opens in a new window AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window APA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window This valuable resource provides full text for over 550 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Searches six Cochrane Library databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). CDSR, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
JAMA Network: Open This link opens in a new window An open access health policy journal from the JAMA network.
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window Searches the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, a fully refereed library that publishes systematic reviews of literature following the JBI methodology.
MedLinePlus This link opens in a new window Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues for patients and their families in language you can understand. MedLinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window An evidence-based natural medicines resource designed for healthcare professionals. The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is recognized as the scientific gold standard for evidence-based information on natural medicines. Leaders in conventional medicine as well as complementary, alternative, and integrative medicine recognize the Database as the go-to resource for the most complete and practical information.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window A nurses responsibility extends beyond addressing just physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. Prepare your students to do that with our exclusive new collection, Nursing and Mental Health in Video.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 22 million citations in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window This evidence-based, point-of-care resource is for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. With Rehabilitation Reference Center, therapists can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Produced by the Philosophers Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), coverage in this database begins in 1908, with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 300 journals selected by leading religion scholars.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Covers a broad array of subjects including biology, chemistry, physics, education, health, psychology, religion & theology, and social work. Academic Search ™ Premier contains indexing for 8,200 publications, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles. Over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals are indexed, with full text for 3,600 titles.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Find background information, definitions, and basic explanations of concepts and theories
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, (short for Journal Storage) covers journals in business, economics, education, history, political science, literature, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Library One Search This link opens in a new window Search for print books, eBooks, journal articles, and everything else available at Alvernia's library from one search box!
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or publication for up-to-date coverage of news resources. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including the Reading Eagle.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Information on current social issues: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to selected web sites.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions
Springer Open This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of open access journals.

Nursing Related Journals

Below is a list of nursing journals available in print or electronically at Alvernia's Library.

Select a subject below and browse the journals. Then click on the database link to view abstracts or full-text journal articles.

Ask a Librarian if you need help!

Nursing Related Journals:

Using MeSH & CINAHL Terms

So what are these MeSH, CINAHL terms???

Learn how using MeSH terms will make your search more efficient & effective:

Helpful Journals

Health Care Management Review
more...less...
Request full text through Interlibrary Loan.
Journal of Nursing Administration
more...less...
Request full text through Articles on Demand.
Journal of Nursing Care Quality
Journal of Nursing Management
Journal of Public Health Management and Practice
more...less...
Request full text through Interlibrary Loan.
Nursing Management
more...less...
Request full text through Interlibrary Loan.
Reflections on Nursing Leadership

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text of an article you need?

Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service through which materials not owned by the Library may be requested from other libraries. Before requesting material, check the library catalog to make sure the library does not own or have electronic access to what you want. Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Effective Leadership in Healthcare Organizations: Finding Articles