The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Chemistry.
Chemistry & Biochemistry Resources
Binding DB (Opens in New Tab)The first public molecular recognition database, BindingDB supports research, education and practice in drug discovery, pharmacology and related fields.
ChemExper (Opens in New Tab)Find chemicals in the Chemexper Chemical Directory. Can search by text or by compound structure.
Common Chemistry - CAS (Opens in New Tab)CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.
ENZYME - Enzyme Nomenclature Database (Opens in New Tab)ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided.
GenBank - NIH (Opens in New Tab)GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013 Jan;41(D1):D36-42). GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.
Green Chemistry Institute (Opens in New Tab)" The purpose of their website is to promote green chemistry and green engineering principles, primarily to researchers, people working in industry, teachers, and students." (Choice)
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database (Opens in New Tab)A database containing solubilities originally published in the IUPAC (International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry) - NIST Solubility Data Series is now available online.
NIST Chemistry WebBook (Opens in New Tab)For information on thermodynamic data for over 5,000 chemical compounds and on ion-energetics data for over 10,000 chemical compounds, NIST's Chemistry WebBook is available for searching. Compounds can be searched by name, chemical formula, or CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number. (ISP)
Organic Chemistry Portal (Opens in New Tab)The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
Periodic Table - PTable (Opens in New Tab)An interactive online periodic table that easily shows elements as categorized by physical characteristics, chemical characteristics, freezing point, boiling point, melting point, and more.
Protein Data Bank - PDB (Opens in New Tab)RCSB Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB) enables breakthroughs in science and education by providing access and tools for exploration, visualization, and analysis of experimentally-determined 3D structures from the Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive and Computed Structure Models (CSM) from AlphaFold DB and ModelArchive.
SynArchive (Opens in New Tab)SynArchive is a free web based application that allows you to browse a growing database of organic syntheses. Unlike most chemical synthesis shown on the web, the sequence of reactions is clear, precise and unambiguous.
Wired Chemist (Opens in New Tab)Tutorials and discussion on chemistry, environmental laboratory projects, as well as information on mineralogy and NMR. Links to educational resources also included.
General Science Resources
ATTRA - Sustainable Agriculture (Opens in New Tab)This site has "the latest information on sustainable agriculture practices, innovation, alternative crop and livestock enterprises, and of course, organic certification." (ISP)
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (Opens in New Tab)This highly valuable research Website provides "a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century." (ISP)
EurekAlert (Opens in New Tab)An online news service "where research institutions, universities, government agencies, corporations and the like can distribute science-related news to reporters and news media." Searchable, and browsable by subject (Agriculture, Archaeology, Chemistry, and more). (LII)
Metric (SI) Program (Opens in New Tab)The Metric Program helps implement the national policy to establish the SI (International System of Units, commonly known as the metric system) as the preferred system of weights and measures for U.S. trade and commerce. It provides leadership and assistance on SI use and conversion to federal agencies, state and local governments, businesses, trade association, standards development organizations, educators, and the general public.
The National Academies (Opens in New Tab)The National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council (NRC) cooperate to provide a Web site that incorporates up-to-date information for the public about the broad range of science, technology, and health policy issues within their mandates. Hyperlinks provide access to the free full-text of thousands of e-books published by the National Academies Press as well as journals, news articles, and other publications. (CHOICE Review Online)
SciCentral (Opens in New Tab)A directory of links to "today's breaking science news." Browsable by topic, including biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth and space, and engineering. Also includes links to related journals, databases, job opportunities, and conferences. (LII)
Science.gov (Opens in New Tab)"Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. "
SEARCH - National Agricultural Library (Opens in New Tab)SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.
UC Museum of Paleontology (Opens in New Tab)This site contains online exhibits on phylogeny, geologic time, and evolutionary thought; resources for students (K-12) and teachers; and information on UCMP's collection of fossils, "printed material, images, and memorabilia." Searchable. (LII)
