LibGuides: Evidence-Based Practice: EBP Resources

EBP Resources

Finding Books

To search the Alvernia catalog for print books and DVDs at Franco Library, enter your search terms below and hit 'Search'.

eBooks

Franco Library has several subscriptions to eBook collections to make accessing relevant texts on Evidence-Based Practice even easier. You can search for eBooks using some of the library databases linked below, as well as peruse some free digital library suggestions.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
IGI Global eBooks This link opens in a new window Current eBooks on a wide variety of subjects
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.

Finding Articles

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

List of Databases A-Z (Opens in New Tab)

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window APA PscyINFO covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. APA PsycINFO journal coverage spans from 1800s to present, and includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window This valuable resource provides full text for over 550 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Searches six Cochrane Library databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). CDSR, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
JBI - Ovid This link opens in a new window Searches the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, a fully refereed library that publishes systematic reviews of literature following the JBI methodology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 22 million citations in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

Web Resources

The following free online resources are relevant to those studying Evidence-Based Practice.

AHRQ (Opens in New Tab) AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Centre for Evidence-based Medicine (Opens in New Tab) The EBM Tools section includes information on formulating a question, finding the best evidence, study designs, and levels of evidence.
An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses (Opens in New Tab) AHRQ Publication No. 08-0043. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. http://www.ahrq.gov/qual/nurseshdbk/
Trip Database (Opens in New Tab) Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Relevant EBP Books at Alvernia

To access the books below, select the book's cover. If you're accessing them off-campus, you'll be prompted to login with your Alvernia credentials.