AOSSM Sports Tips (Opens in New Tab)"Each of these single-page, fact sheets have been written and reviewed by top sports medicine professionals and combine easy-to-read text with colorful illustrations to help patients understand the diagnosis, treatment, recovery and prevention of a particular condition or illness."
American College of Sports Medicine (Opens in New Tab)This college "promotes and integrates scientific research, education, and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life." The website features guidelines for healthy aerobic activity, calculate your exercise heart rate range, locate an ACSM-certified health professional in your area, and view a brochure about Careers in Sports Medicine and Exercise Science. (LII)
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (Opens in New Tab)The mission of "AOSSM was to provide a scientific outlet for presentation and publication of new ideas; to provide an opportunity for physicians to meet and exchange ideas regarding research, clinical problems, proposals for future progress in sports medicine and a high level publication controlled by the Society."
College Athletic Trainers' Society (Opens in New Tab)"The College Athletic Trainers' Society is founded to provide high quality care to our student-athletes; to foster a close working relationship with organizations whose interests are to promote intercollegiate athletics; and to address the needs and concerns of full-time head and assistant athletic trainers at colleges and universities."
International Society of Biomechanics (Opens in New Tab)"The International Society of Biomechanics (ISB) was founded August 30, 1973 to promote the study of all areas of biomechanics at the international level, although special emphasis is given to the biomechanics of Human Movement."
National Athletic Trainers’ Association (Opens in New Tab)"The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession."
National Strength and Conditioning Association (Opens in New Tab)"The National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) is the world leading membership organization for thousands of elite strength coaches, personal trainers and dedicated researchers and educators."
Global Health Data Exchange (Opens in New Tab)Welcome to the GHDx, the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. It’s the place to start your health data search. Learn more about the catalog in GHDx Help.
Global Health Observatory - WHO (Opens in New Tab)WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States and each edition supersedes the previous one.
International Health Care System Profiles - Commonwealth Fund (Opens in New Tab)The 2020 edition of International Profiles of Health Care Systems is a resource for learning about health care systems around the world. Users can find information on how nations organize, govern, and finance their health systems; efforts to improve quality of care, contain costs, and reduce racial and ethnic disparities; innovations in health care delivery; and other recent reforms.
AHRQ - Data & Analytics (Opens in New Tab)The AHRQ Data Tools allow you to explore AHRQ data sources in depth through bar charts, trend charts, geographic maps, and more. Create and download charts and datasets to support your research.
CDC WONDER Database (Opens in New Tab)WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
ChildStats.gov (Opens in New Tab)The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
CMS - Data & Research (Opens in New Tab)Learn about the data, systems, and research behind the programs that provide health coverage to more than 100 million people.
HealthData.gov (Opens in New Tab)This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (Opens in New Tab)We develop statistical analyses and reports on a broad range of topics, operate VA’s data and statistics Web portal to disseminate Veteran data and statistics, and develop estimates and projections on Veteran populations.
NIMH - Statistics (Opens in New Tab)Research shows that mental illnesses are common in the United States, affecting tens of millions of people each year. Estimates suggest that only half of people with mental illnesses receive treatment. The information on these pages includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Office of Minority Health - Data & Evaluation (Opens in New Tab)The Division of Policy and Data (DPD) is responsible for developing health policies and initiatives that are designed to address the elimination of health disparities and advance health equity.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health - Data (Opens in New Tab)Research shows that substance use and mental illnesses are common in the United States, affecting millions of people each year. SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.
Pennsylvania Health Statistics
Health Statistics - Commonwealth of PA (Opens in New Tab)Our statistical products cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research, and public inquiry. All statistical reports and webpages are maintained by the Health Informatics Office within the Pennsylvania Department of Health
PHC4 Data (Opens in New Tab)Our reports highlight the cost and quality of health care throughout the state, so you can make informed decisions about your care.
State Health Facts - KFF (Opens in New Tab)State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations. Data presented on State Health Facts are updated or added as new data become available; the update schedule varies from indicator to indicator. The availability of older or “archived” data is limited and varies by indicator. Please contact us to inquire about a specific indicator.
Injuries, Illness, and Fatalities - U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (Opens in New Tab)The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).
