The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Philosophy.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Opens in New Tab)Hundreds of articles featuring "detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy." Maintained by two philosophy professors and a team of volunteer specialists. Not searchable. (LII)
Philosophy Pages (Opens in New Tab)This site on philosophy and philosophers has a concise Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names , a survey History of Western Philosophy , a Timeline of Western Philosophers (from 600 B.C.E. to the present), a discussion of logic, a guide to the study of philosophy, and a collection of briefly annotated links to additional resources. (LII)
Philosophy Toolkit - PLATO (Opens in New Tab)The Philosophy Toolkit contains over 250 lesson plans to inspire philosophical discussions with students of all ages. Please explore this free searchable resource, starting with our Getting Started pages below. Contact us with any suggestions or reactions.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Opens in New Tab)Philosophy professors at Stanford University are developing this encyclopedia, featuring hundreds of articles. The section called "What's New" features the latest entries. Searchable and browsable. (LII)
Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy Page (Opens in New Tab)"The Voice of the Shuttle …mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media." (VoS)
Ethics Websites
Association for Practical and Professional Ethics (Opens in New Tab)The Association for Practical and Professional Ethics was founded in 1991 with support from Indiana University and the Lilly Endowment to encourage interdisciplinary scholarship and teaching of high quality in practical and professional ethics by educators and practitioners who appreciate the practical-theoretical aspects of their subjects.
Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions - IIT (Opens in New Tab)This site will briefly present some concepts and suggest some readings that take a look at the history of what is meant by a profession, some differing ways to think about professional ethics, and a brief analysis of what is meant by professional responsibility.
