The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Computer Science.
General Computing Websites
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC) (Opens in New Tab)A "searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact anything to do with computing." Maintained by a software engineer. (LII)
NetLingo (Opens in New Tab)A "dictionary of Internet terms. It contains thousands of words and definitions that describe the online world of business, technology, and communication." Searchable and browsable.(LII)
PCWorld (Opens in New Tab)PCWorld helps you navigate the PC ecosystem to find the products you want and the advice you need to get the job done.
Tech Encyclopedia (Opens in New Tab)"More than 20,000 definitions of computer terms and concepts.... The source for this encyclopedia is The Computer Desktop Encyclopedia ." The site is very useful for authoritative computer and Internet technology definitions. (LII)
The Web Index (Opens in New Tab)"The Web Index is a unique annual ranking of countries on the progress and social utility of the Web. Combining over 80 indicators to evaluate access, affordability, institutional and policy environment and social and economic utility, it will provide an evidence-based tool for national and regional advocacy, intervention, and strategy to strengthen the Web."
Webopedia (Opens in New Tab)A "free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology." Searchable, and browsable by category, including communications, computer science, hardware, Internet, operating systems, software, and types of computers. (LII)
Study Resources
C++ (Opens in New Tab)Includes a Reference dictionary, tutorials, articles about the C++ language, and a forum.
FreeCodeCamp (Opens in New Tab)Our mission: to help people learn to code for free. We accomplish this by creating thousands of videos, articles, and interactive coding lessons - all freely available to the public.
GeeksforGeeks (Opens in New Tab)GeeksforGeeks is a leading platform that provides computer science resources and coding challenges for programmers and technology enthusiasts, along with interview and exam preparations for upcoming aspirants. With a strong emphasis on enhancing coding skills and knowledge, it has become a trusted destination for over 12 million plus registered users worldwide. The platform offers a vast collection of tutorials, practice problems, interview tutorials, articles, and courses, covering various domains of computer science.
Khan Academy (Opens in New Tab)Offering programming online courses as well as "Hour of Code" short lessons focused on specific skills.
Software Development Tutorials (Opens in New Tab)EDUCBA is an initiative by IIT IIM Graduates, We are one of the leading providers of skill-based education addressing the needs of 1,000,000+ members across 70+ Countries. With more the 15+ years of experience in Training and Development, our expertise lies in Self-paced learning, Digital Learning content, Corporate Training, Content Development and Consultancy.
TutorialsPoint (Opens in New Tab)Tutorials Point originated from the idea that there exists a class of readers who respond better to online content and prefer to learn new skills at their own pace from the comforts of their drawing rooms.
W3schools (Opens in New Tab)Exercises and tutorials in a variety of CIS topics with self-contained practice tools that allow students to view outputs of their code.
