The following free online resources are relevant to students studying Theatre.
Theatre Websites
Inter-Play: Online Index to Plays (Opens in New Tab)This Web site displays citations for theatrical plays. The authors claim that most of plays cited are "not indexed in the standard printed play indexes such as Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections or H. W. Wilson's Play Index ." Currently, there are over 17,500 citations of plays ranging from ancient to modern. Foreign language as well as English plays are indexed. A user may search by playwright or by play. Edited by two humanities librarians from Portland State University. (LII)
Internet Broadway Databases (Opens in New Tab)IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
Open Source Shakespeare (Opens in New Tab)Welcome to Open Source Shakespeare (OSS). Since it debuted in 2003, OSS has become one of the most popular Shakespeare sites on the Internet. It is used regularly by scholars, educators, and Shakespeare lovers around the world.
Perseus Digital Library (Opens in New Tab)Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. We have studied many problems over the past two decades, but our current research centers on personalization: organizing what you see to meet your needs.
Theatre Library Association (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1937, Theatre Library Association supports librarians and archivists affiliated with theatre, dance, performance studies, popular entertainment, motion picture and broadcasting collections. TLA promotes professional best practices in acquisition, organization, access and preservation of performing arts resources in libraries, archives, museums, private collections, and the digital environment
Teoria - Music Theory Web (Opens in New Tab)Dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. Several free tutorials on reading music, intervals, scales, chords, harmonic functions, and other interactive exercises.
Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection (Opens in New Tab)The Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Belfer's cylinder collection includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles.
Live Music Archive (Opens in New Tab)The Internet Archive's Live Music Library is an audio archive of live recordings that are available royalty free and at no cost.
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive (Opens in New Tab)UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library (Opens in New Tab)Provides access to more than 200,000 music scores free of charge. IMSLP is committed to providing free access to music for everyone and encourages the exchange of musical ideas through online forums.
ScorSer (Opens in New Tab)Search engine created for musicians enabling them to search through websites for scores, sheet music, tabs, backing tracks, audio files, lyrics, MP3s, and other information.
Sheet Music Consortium (Opens in New Tab)Libraries whose goal is to create an open collection of digitized sheet music. Libraries include: Library of Congress, National Library of Australia, Duke University, Indiana University, John Hopkins University, UCLA, and the University of Maine.
