Country Studies - Library of Congress (Opens in New Tab)Produced by the Library of Congress, "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Global Resource Directory - globalEDGE (Opens in New Tab)The Global Resource Directory offers a rich collection of thousands of international business- and trade-related resources, which we have selected for their content and usability and organized into the categories below to facilitate your research.
Pew Research Center - International Affairs (Opens in New Tab)"public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day."
Travel Warnings and Consular Reports - Dept. of State (Opens in New Tab)Includes travel warnings issued when the State Department recommends that Americans avoid a certain country. In addition to this list, the State Department issues Consular Information Sheets for every country of the world with information on such matters as the health conditions, crime, unusual currency or entry requirements, any areas of instability, and the location of the nearest U.S. embassy or consulate in the subject country.
World DataBank (Opens in New Tab)"...this resource offers a bank of free statistics from reputable sources worldwide."
Data can be viewed:
1) by country - over 200 countries
2) indicators - over 1200 indicators
3) by topic - 18 topics such as climate change, enviornment, health, financial sector, gender, etc.
World Factbook - Central Intelligence Agency (Opens in New Tab)Published annually by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this is a handy reference work for basic statistical data on the countries of the world. Includes maps, and a handy resource called Flags of the World (LII)
Global Business & Economics
Currency Converter - OANDA (Opens in New Tab)Converter allows you to specify conversions by Interbank rate + various percentages, as well as credit card and cash rates. Currency conversions can be calculated back to January 1990.
Index of Economic Freedom (Opens in New Tab)"measures 161 countries against a list of 50 independent variables divided into 10 broad factors of economic freedom. Low scores are more desirable. The higher the score on a factor, the greater the level of government interference in the economy and the less economic freedom a country enjoys." Covers trade policy, monetary policy, property rights, banking and finance, and other issues. A project of The Heritage Foundation and the Wall Street Journal (Heritage)
International Business Directory (Opens in New Tab)"A compendium of almost 2,000 foreign-owned businesses with a presence in the five boroughs of New York City. The Directory also includes information on foreign consulates, missions to the United Nations, overseas trade and investment organizations, and other foreign government affiliated offices in New York City. Users can search by category, country of origin, industry sector, and keyword."
International Business Etiquette (Opens in New Tab)Welcome to your information source for international business etiquette, manners, and cross cultural communication. As global business continues to expand and bring everyone closer, the critical element of a successful business outcome may be the appreciation and respect for regional, country, and cultural differences - known as cultural diversity and requiring good intercultural communication. In these pages you will find a wealth of information and resources on international business etiquette and manners to utilize during your international travels and overseas assignments. In fact, you may want to print a copy to review during your next international flight.
International Monetary Fund (Opens in New Tab)These reports, issued twice a year, examine recent world economic developments and future prospects. Includes links to searchable databases aggregating data used for the reports; search or browse by country, scope by market or economy, and more. From the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
U.S. Commercial Service (Opens in New Tab)"the most comprehensive source for commercial information about the United States of America." A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
U.S. International Trade Administration (Opens in New Tab)Information and support for U.S. companies seeking to do business abroad. Provides statistical information on imports and exports as well as access to other important information regarding U.S. trade.
World Bank (Opens in New Tab)As a provider of economic assistance to more than 100 developing countries, the World Bank coordinates with private, government, multilateral, and non-government organizations to ensure that resources are used to full effect in supporting a country's efforts toward stable, sustainable, and equitable growth. This Website provides information on health, education, the environment, private sector development, poverty, urban development, gender, and economic reform issues.
Foreign Affairs Online (Opens in New Tab)Provides links to important sites for the study of international relations, including every part of the US government, all the UN agencies, the constitutions of all of the nations of the world, maps of the Australian states, and much else.
Foreign Policy Association (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1918, the Foreign Policy Association (FPA) is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan, nongovernmental, educational organization whose purpose is educating Americans about significant international issues that influence their lives. Resources are provided for the FPA-sponsored Great Decisions discussion groups which meet throughout the United States each year to discuss foreign policy topics (new topics are chosen each year).
