American Correctional Association (Opens in New Tab)"Oldest and largest correctional association in the world". The website includes resources for professional development and certification, standards and accreditation, networking, an online academy and research resources.
American Jail Association (Opens in New Tab)National, nonprofit organization that "exists to support those who work in and operate our nation's jails and is the only national association that focuses exclusively on issues specific to the operations of local correctional facilities." Site includes publications and technical information, information about training and education, awards and scholarships, conferences and more.
The Corrections Connection (Opens in New Tab)"The first weekly news source committed to improving the lives of corrections professionals and their families", intended as an open forum where practitioners could exchange ideas and utilize best practices, resources, case studies and new technologies.
Federal Bureau of Prisons (Opens in New Tab)Locate federal prisons nationwide; learn how to locate inmates; and check prison employment opportunities. Find statistical information on institutions and inmates, including a weekly population report by institution, and inmate breakdowns by age, race, security level, and other criteria. Read historical documents and articles concerning BOP history, including Alcatraz and a list of all federal prisoners executed since 1927. Links to related sites, including the Federal Bureau of Prisons library catalog. Site is searchable. (LII)
Journal of Prisoners on Prison (Opens in New Tab)"A prisoner written, academically oriented & peer reviewed, non-profit journal, based on the tradition of the penal press. It brings the knowledge produced by prison writers together with academic arguments to enlighten public discourse about the current state of correctional institutions."
The Sentencing Project (Opens in New Tab)This organization is "an independent source of criminal justice policy analysis, data and program information for the public and policy-makers [which has] become a national leader in the development of alternative sentencing programs and in the reform of criminal justice policy." The site includes policy report summaries and publications (full reports may be ordered); briefing/fact sheets (with statistics about prisons and prisoners); events; and current related news articles. (LII)
U.S. Sentencing Commission (Opens in New Tab)"An independent agency in the judicial branch of the federal government, was established in 1985 to develop national sentencing guidelines for the federal courts." Site includes publications such as training and educational materials, federal sentencing statistics, information about specific cases, press releases, and more.
Crime/Law Enforcement Statistics - FBI (Opens in New Tab)"Published annually, this presents data regarding incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability."
Federal Court Management Statistics (Opens in New Tab)“Provides statistical profiles for each of the 12 U.S. courts of appeals and 94 U.S. district courts–plus national totals for the appellate and district courts–for the fiscal year ending September 30."
Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics (Opens in New Tab)“Statistical tables on the caseload of the federal Judiciary for the 12-month period ending March 31 address the work of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts and bankruptcy courts, as well as the federal probation and pretrial services system."
Judicial Facts and Figures (Opens in New Tab)Historical caseload statistics for the federal judiciary. "Provides current and historical caseload statistics for the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts, and bankruptcy courts for the fiscal year ending September 30. Table 1.1 is a good source for judgeship information, including the total numbers of active and senior Article III judges (who are appointed for life), magistrate judges, and bankruptcy judges.”
U.S. Census Data (Opens in New Tab)Learn about America's communities through our data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. For each, we cover topics like education, employment, health, and housing just to name a few.
Population Reference Bureau (Opens in New Tab)PRB is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit research organization focused on improving people’s health and well-being through evidence-based policies and practices. Our staff analyze population data and ensure the research and its applications are understood and used widely by decisionmakers, advocates, and media.
Organizations & Associations
Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (Opens in New Tab)"The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS)...provides a forum for disseminating ideas related to issues in research, policy, education, and practice within the field."
ACLU (Opens in New Tab)Hosted by the American CIvil LIberties Union,this site includes press releases, background information, legal information and other resources concerning Criminal Justice.
American Bar Association (Opens in New Tab)"The American Bar Association provides law school accreditation, continuing legal education, information about the law, programs to assist lawyers and judges in their work, and initiatives to improve the legal system for the public."
American Society of Criminology (Opens in New Tab)"The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency."
Bureau of Justice Assistance (Opens in New Tab)A component of the U.S. Department of Justice, its purpose is to provide leadership and services in grant administration and criminal justice policy development to support local, state, and tribal justice strategies to achieve safer communities. The site includes grant and funding information, links to other justice programs, publications and other resources.
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (Opens in New Tab)Non-profit organization established to promote balanced and humane criminal justice policies that reduce incarceration and promote long-term public safety for juveniles. Website includes publications, policies, programs and related links.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (Opens in New Tab)Our priority is to help protect you, your children, your communities, and your businesses from the most dangerous threats facing our nation—from international and domestic terrorists to spies on U.S. soil, from cyber villains to corrupt government officials, from mobsters to violent street gangs, from child predators to serial killers. Along the way, we help defend and uphold our nation’s economy, physical and electronic infrastructure, and democracy.
International Association of Law Enforcement Intelligence Analysts (Opens in New Tab)"Our aim is to enhance understanding of the role of intelligence analysis, encourage the recognition of intelligence analysis as a professional endeavor, develop International qualification and competency standards, reinforce professional concepts, devise training standards and curricula, furnish advisory and related services on intelligence analysis matters, conduct analytic-related research studies, and provide the ability to disseminate information regarding analytical techniques and methods."
National Center for Juvenile Justice (Opens in New Tab)The research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, NCJJ, provides a comprehensive resource for independent and original research on topics related directly and indirectly to the field of juvenile justice.
National Center for Victims of Crime (Opens in New Tab)"The nation's leading resource and advocacy organization for crime victims." The site includes an online resource library as well as legal information and helplines.
National Criminal Justice Association - NCJA (Opens in New Tab)The NCJA serves as the formal mechanism for informing the Congress of state, tribal and local criminal and juvenile justice needs and accomplishments. The website includes an extensive list of links to government agencies, grant opportunities, legal resources, non-profit agencies and more.
National Institute of Justice (Opens in New Tab)The research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues.The website includes a searchable database of abstracts of available publications and full-text articles. Also includes some in video format.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (Opens in New Tab)Part of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services, NIDA supports over 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The website includes special resources for teachers, parents and K-12 students as well as a database of free public domain publications and videos available for a nominal fee.
National Juvenile Court Data Archive (Opens in New Tab)"Established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policy making efforts."
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (Opens in New Tab)This site supports national efforts to "prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization." It publicizes local programs that "develop and implement prevention and intervention programs and improve the juvenile justice system." Highlights include relevant statistics, funding opportunities, programs, publications, and events. Click on Resources for access to configurable lists of state, national, and international agencies and resources. Searchable. (LII)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (Opens in New Tab)"The Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), promotes the quality and availability of community-based substance abuse treatment services for individuals and families who need them." Website provides referral service for treatment as well as publications and other resources.
VERA Institute of Justice (Opens in New Tab)"Works closely with leaders in government and civil society to improve the services people rely on for safety and justice. Vera develops innovative, affordable programs that often grow into self-sustaining organizations, studies social problems and current responses, and provides practical advice and assistance to government officials in New York and around the world." The site includes more information about Vera's methods and learn about Vera's current and past projects—work that spans the core areas of the justice system: crime and victimization, policing, the judicial process, sentencing and correction.
Arab-American Family Support Center (Opens in New Tab)The Arab-American Family Support Center (AAFSC) is a non-profit, non-sectarian organization established in 1994 to provide culturally and linguistically competent, trauma-informed, multigenerational social services to immigrants and refugees. We strengthen families through 4 key priority areas and our work extends to communities globally.
Arab American Anti-Discrimination Committee (Opens in New Tab)ADC is a civil rights organization committed to defending the rights of people of Arab descent and promoting their rich cultural heritage. ADC was founded by former U.S. Senator James Abourezk in 1980. Today, ADC is the largest Arab American grassroots organization in the U.S.
Arab American Institute (Opens in New Tab)To confront what was coined the “Politics of Exclusion” by our co-founders, the Arab American Institute Foundation was launched in 1995 by the Arab American Institute as the civic engagement arm of the Arab American community.
Arab Community Center for Economic and Social Services (Opens in New Tab)Today, ACCESS is the most comprehensive Arab American community nonprofit in the United States. With 11 locations and more than 120 programs serving metro Detroit, ACCESS offers a wide range of social, economic, health and educational services to a diverse population.
National Network for Arab American Communities (Opens in New Tab)The National Network for Arab American Communities (NNAAC) is a consortium of independent Arab American community-based organizations. Established in 2004 as a national institution of ACCESS, NNAAC currently has 35 members in 13 different states.
Asian Americans Advancing Justice (Opens in New Tab)Since 1991, Asian Americans Advancing Justice (AAJC) has fought for Asian Americans in the national conversations that determine policies that shape our lives.
Asian Pacific Islander Legal Outreach (Opens in New Tab)Asian Pacific Islander Legal Outreach was founded in 1975 as Nihonmachi Legal Outreach to promote the development, empowerment, and self-reliance of the community through the provision of culturally competent and linguistically appropriate legal, social, and educational services to those with extraordinary needs.
National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (Opens in New Tab)The National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (NCAPA), founded in 1996, is a coalition of 40 national Asian Pacific American organizations around the country. Based in Washington D.C., NCAPA represents the interests of the greater Asian American (AA) and Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities and provides a national voice for AA and NHPI issues.
Black & African Americans
National Association Of Blacks In Criminal Justice (Opens in New Tab)The National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice seeks to focus attention on relevant legislation, law enforcement, prosecution, and defense-related needs and practices, with emphasis on law enforcement, courts, corrections, and the prevention of crime.
National Organization of Black Law Enforcement (Opens in New Tab)The goal of NOBLE is to be recognized as a highly competent, public service organization that is at the forefront of providing solutions to law enforcement issues and concerns, as well as to the ever-changing needs of our communities.
Racial Justice - ACLU (Opens in New Tab)The Racial Justice Program (RJP) fights to eradicate racial injustice in the U.S. and works to foster a society in which people of color and communities of color have full access to the rights and benefits of American society. Working with affected communities, RJP litigates, advocates, and educates to strike at the roots of racial injustice.
Indigenous & Native Peoples
Association on American Indian Affairs (Opens in New Tab)The Association on American Indian Affairs is the oldest non-profit serving Native Country protecting sovereignty, preserving culture, educating youth and building capacity.
Bureau of Indian Affairs (Opens in New Tab)At 200 years old, the Bureau of Indian Affairs is the oldest bureau in the Department of the Interior. Our mission is to enhance the quality of life, promote economic opportunities, and to carry out the federal responsibilities entrusted to us to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
National Congress of American Indians (Opens in New Tab)Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
National Museum of the American Indian (Opens in New Tab)A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Native American Rights Fund (Opens in New Tab)Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Native American tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation.
Office of Tribal Justice (Opens in New Tab)The Office of Tribal Justice (OTJ) was initially formed in 1995 in response to requests from Tribal leaders for a dedicated point of contact for Indian country-specific legal and policy matters.
Latinx & Hispanic Americans
Hispanic American Police Command Officers Association (Opens in New Tab)HAPCOA, the Hispanic American Police Command Officers Association, established in 1973, is the oldest and largest association in the U.S. of Hispanic American command officers from law enforcement and criminal justice agencies at the municipal, county, state and federal levels. With members in hundreds of agencies across the United States and Puerto Rico, many of whom are active in local chapters, HAPCOA is a national organization with a local presence.
Latin American Law Enforcement Association (Opens in New Tab)In 1967, a group of Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) officers who were inspired to create an association committed to promoting the advancement of Latinos and other underrepresented groups in the Department founded the Latin American Law Enforcement Association, also known as LALEY.
League of United Latin American Citizens (Opens in New Tab)LULAC is the largest and oldest Hispanic organization in the United States. LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, housing, health, and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs operating at more than 525 LULAC councils nationwide. The organization involves and serves all Hispanic nationality groups.
Pew Research Center - Hispanics/Latinos (Opens in New Tab)We explore the diverse views and experiences of Latinos in America with in-depth surveys and demographic snapshots. Our work focuses on capturing the diverse attitudes and experiences of the Hispanic population living in the U.S., particularly around topics of identity, culture, political participation and social mobility. This work is part of our wider race and ethnicity research portfolio.
