Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Content Guide: Getting
Started

This is the content guide, do NOT publish. Here is where we will pull informational boxes from.

InfoSearch Tutorial

InfoSearch

A tutorial illustrating how to use Alvernia Library resources to find authoritative books, articles and websites.

Module 1 Starting Smart
              This module covers types of information sources you can use for your topic.

Module 2 Choosing A Topic
            This module covers topic selection and how to identify keywords to search your topic.

Module 3 Using Alvernia's Catalog
            This module covers how to search Alvernia's Catalog to find books in our library.

Module 4 Finding Articles
              This module covers how to use article databases to identify articles on a subject.

Module 5 Using theWeb
              This module covers how to efficiently search the Web and evaluate web sites.

Module 6 Citing Sources
                
This module covers citing sources, plagiarism, and copyright.

Need Research Help? Ask a Librarian!

Phone

610.796.5517


Email

Ask a Librarian email


Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Recommended Research Guides

What Kind of Source Should You Use?

Do you need…

Try this…

Background information, an overview, or established facts?

Reference books:  ex. encyclopedias, dictionaries, authoritative websites

Comprehensive information on a topic?

General books

Current, in depth information?

Scholarly journal articles (use a database!)

Current, general information?

Popular magazines, newspapers, news websites

Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center

Profile Photo
Alvernia Library
Contact:
Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center
Alvernia University
400 Saint Bernardine St.
Reading, PA 19607
610.796.8223
Website

Ask a Librarian Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.