Skip to main content

Literature: Print Indexes

Print Indexes

Humanities Index

This is a print index of arts and humanities journals (April 1974 to September 2000). Each bound volume covers one year’s worth of articles. Citations to articles are arranged alphabetically by article title, article author, or subject. To locate articles about an author, search by the author’s last name. Within the citation, the journal title is often abbreviated; there is a list of journal abbreviations at the beginning of each volume.

The Humanities Index is located in the Library Reference collection.

Gale Literary Series

The Gale literary series located in the Reference section of the library supplements information available in the Literature Resource Center database. Check a current print Cumulative Index to find the most recent entry in one of the Gale literary series. Each Literary Criticism Cumulative Index includes entries for all the Gale literary series. The Literary Criticism Cumulative Index directs users to the series and volume with the full text content. Use the guide below to locate the appropriate series.

Library Resources

For Literary Criticism on: Gale Literary Series Library Print Location
Authors now living or who died after December 31, 1959            Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) V1 - 282 R809 C761
Authors who died between 1900 and 1959 Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)    V1 - 231 R809 T971
Authors who died between 1800 and 1899 Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) V1 - 39 R809.04 N714
Authors who died between 1400 and 1799

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC)    

Shakespearean Criticism (SC)

V1 - 22

V1 - 127

R809.03 L761

R822.33 S527

  Black Literature Criticism (BLC) V1 - 3 R809.8896 B627
For Author Information
  Contemporary Authors (CA) V1 - 288 R928 C761a
  Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (CANR)     V1 - 196 R928 C761a
  Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) V1 - 244 R813.54 A512 R928 D554
  Something About the Author V1 - 132 R809.89 S696

Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center

Alvernia Library's picture
Alvernia Library
Contact:
Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center
Alvernia University
400 Saint Bernardine St.
Reading, PA 19607
610.796.8223
Website