Skip to main content

John Updike Collections

The John Updike Collections of the Alvernia University Archives and Special Collections

Burchard Papers

Collection Number:                       MS 2

Collection Title:                              Rachael C. Burchard Papers

Creator:                                           Rachael C. Burchard

Collection Dates:                           1969-2003 (Majority 1970s)

Extent:                                             3.5 linear feet

Former Accession Number:          2012/7

Background Note:

Rachael C. Burchard grew up in the northwestern United States. She received her advanced education at Linfield College in Oregon, the University of California at Berkeley and Northern Illinois University, where she also taught as an instructor of English. Her published works represent a variety of interests. Hallelujah Hopscotch, a play for children, won first place in a national competition and has been performed hundreds of times throughout the United States. Her poems have appeared in journals and magazines and her book of poetry, Green Figs and Tender Grapes, was published in 1986. Burchard is also the author of two short volumes of monologues and a volume of short, one-person plays.

Burchard had a lifelong interest in creative writing and the modern novel and was the author of several articles of literary criticism. In 1971she published the book, John Updike, Yea Sayings, one of the earliest critical examinations of Updike’s works.

This collection is comprised primarily of her working files related to her studies and teaching of John Updike and the publication of John Updike, Yea Sayings. It also contains her copies of books by and about John Updike

The collection was donated by her daughter, Petrea Burchard. 


Burchard Papers Finding Aid