Skip to main content

Services for Students: Physical Space

Learning Commons

The Learning Commons on the first floor of the Franco Library offers both individual and collaborative learning spaces in a technology rich environment with available research and technology support services. The library’s Learning Commons is the busiest computer-access point on campus.  Key features include:

  • Ask a Librarian Help Desk for research assistance
  • Three group study rooms with dual boot iMACs
  • Three additional group study rooms with various setups
  • Over 50 computer stations
  • Eight laptop loan computers
  • Open wifi service so that personal laptops and other mobile devices may be used
  • A variety of seating to accomodate various learning styles and comfort needs; includes lounge furniture, cafe style seating, and more!

Group Study Rooms

The Learning Commons has six group study rooms available for reservation.  These include:

  • Aristotle, Socrates, & Plato which feature dual boot iMACs
  • Hypatia & de Beauvoir which includes swivel chair seating & a computer
  • Confucius Connect with media:scape technology which makes it easy for groups to collaborate on group projects. Up to six users can display their laptop screen on one of two monitors. 

To schedule a group study room, inquire at the Circulation Desk.

Rooms are available for two-hour checkout periods with the option of renewing if there is no other group scheduled. Group Study Rooms may be reserved in advance. Rooms may be scheduled up to one week in advance, with no more than two advance reservations per person per week.

Note: Group Study Rooms require a reservation that you can request at the Circulation Desk

 

         

Quiet Study Space

The library’s second floor is designated as the quiet study area. Study carrels and tables provide seating options for quiet work. When not in use for classes, students may also use the classroom for quiet study.

Computer Classroom

A 32 seat studio style classroom with video conferencing capability is used for library information literacy instruction sessions.

This classroom, LIB 213, is located on the west end of the second floor.

The computers are available for student use when no classes are scheduled.  A weekly schedule of classes is posted by each door. 

Collections

The library holdings consist of several collections:

  • Popular periodicals, newspapers, and the bestseller collections are located in the browsing area on the first floor
  • The reference collection is housed in the Bonaventure Reading Room on the first floor
  • DVDs and CDs are located in the Learning Commons
  • Books from the General Collection that circulate are located on the second floor of the library
  • Curriculum Materials supporting the education program are housed on the west end of the second floor by the library computer classroom
  • Two special collections rooms are located upstairs in the Polish American Cultural Center and the Italian American Cultural Center.

Tour the Library!

Contact Us!

Alvernia Library
Contact:
Dr. Frank A. Franco Library Learning Center
Alvernia University
400 Saint Bernardine St.
Reading, PA 19607
610.796.8223
Website / Blog Page