Archives and Special Collections: Research Assistance

The Reading Room is open by appointment, Monday – Friday, 8:30 – 4:00.

Researchers are welcome to bring:

• Pencils
• Notebooks and paper
• Laptops and phones

Do NOT bring:

• Pens, markers, or other permanent writing tools
• Food or drinks
• Young children

Work with the archivist regarding:

• Bags, purses, coats, and cases: These are kept in a designated area for the safety and security of the materials. The archivist reserves the right to inspect bags and coats as patrons leave if there are concerns about missing records.
• Cameras and other devices: The archivist will determine whether devices expose materials to inappropriate light levels or other risks. Consult the archivist regarding copyright and reproduction rights before photographing materials.

 

Rules for Use

Materials housed in the Archives are rare, sometimes unique records and require special care. Researchers must handle material carefully in accordance with the following guidelines:

• Researchers may not take materials from the storage area. The archivist will supply requested materials in the reading room, for security purposes and to ensure all materials are refiled correctly.
• Archives must be handled with care. The archivist will guide researchers in proper handling. Researchers will wear white cotton gloves when handling photographs.
• Researchers must not disturb the order of documents within folders or boxes. Items must be returned to their original location and filing order.
• Permission must be requested from the archivist to take scans or photographs. Permission may not be granted for some fragile, light-sensitive materials. Only the archivist will scan materials on Alvernia library machines. Scans will be emailed to researchers; the archives does not make prints or copies. Researchers are responsible for respecting copyright law.
• Researchers will be asked to provide their name and Alvernia ID number (if applicable) or similar information for statistics and materials security purposes.
• Internet access is available via the Alvernia or Guest Wi-Fi network, and finding guides are available in print and online.
• Reproductions:

  • The archives makes scans only and emails them to researchers. Researchers are responsible for printing scanned documents, if desired. 

 

Citations

Researchers must provide an appropriate form of citation when crediting the Archives and identifying items within its holdings for later reference.

When citing published materials held in the Archives and Special Collections, use the format proscribed by the citation style you are following (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). If you need help with those citation styles, click here.

When citing unpublished materials, the preferred citation is as follows:

[Item identification.] [Name of collection.] Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections, Alvernia University.

 

Copyright Statement

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be used for any purpose other than “private study, scholarship or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

The Library and Archives reserve the right to refuse to fulfill a request if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the request would involve violation of copyright law. For further information, visit the Copyright, Fair Use, and File Sharing section of the Alvernia University Web site.